RSS

CSA Week #3

28 Jun

Eating your veggies and trying new things – that’s what a CSA is all about, right?

I sure hope so, because this is what we brought home:

Last week, garlic scapes were our new veggie of week. AnnieRie suggested I turn them into hummus, which seemed like a good idea. The hummus turned out great, and I took it to our small group/Bible study, where it was very well received! Several people suggested I make garlic scape pesto, and since we received more scapes this week, I think that’s what I’ll do. (I’ve borrowed a friend’s food processor to make it easier – my immersion blender isn’t cut out for that task!) 

This week, our newcomers are kale and kohlrabi. Any suggestions on what to do with the kohlrabi? (I think kale will be easier to work into our regular meals… I plan to try it in this recipe from Elly Says Opa!)

So, what else was in this week’s share? Two zucchini, a large head of lettuce and some garlic scapes (along with those two kohlrabi and the bunch of kale). And yes, I know you see sugar snap peas there, but those aren’t from the CSA! Those babies are from our garden. And that’s just the start. Tonight I picked these guys:

That’s right, nearly a whole quart container of sugar snaps! Now, the real question is: will I actually get to cook with them, or will we just eat them raw?

 
9 Comments

Posted by on June 28, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

9 responses to “CSA Week #3

  1. Bonnie Baldwin GRANDMA

    June 28, 2012 at 8:08 pm

    Hi Beth, Your grandpa always raises kohlrabi and we peel it and eat it raw by itself or cut up and put in lettuce salad. They are better small and kinda taste like mild cabbage. Yours looks like the right size. We have a friend that eats them raw no matter what size. We like them. Love your sugar snap peas Did the fence help with the rabbits.

     
    • Beth

      June 28, 2012 at 9:03 pm

      Thanks, Grandma! We’ll give the kohlrabi a try!! So far the fence is helping… now we just need some rain! But we have tiny tomatoes on the plants and the beans are flowering!

       
  2. Tammy

    June 28, 2012 at 11:02 pm

    I actually prefer the snap peas raw in a salad.

     
  3. inherchucks

    June 28, 2012 at 11:49 pm

    Kohlrabi is all over the link party…there are some great ideas such as stir fry, slaw, even spring rolls…check out some of the past parties for inspiration.

    For kale, I like to sauté it or this soup recipe is killer…http://inherchucks.com/2012/01/08/sausage-white-bean-kale-soup/.

    Come and link up to this week’s party…http://inherchucks.com/2012/06/27/whats-in-the-box-32/. Looking forward to seeing you there :)

     
    • Beth

      June 29, 2012 at 5:32 am

      Oooh, thanks! I’ll have to check that soup out! (Now if it would just cool off a little so we’d feel like eating soup…) :)

       
      • inherchucks

        June 29, 2012 at 10:03 am

        I know…not the best summer time meal :(

         
  4. novagirl

    July 3, 2012 at 7:20 pm

     
  5. Alyson

    July 4, 2012 at 7:58 am

    I just made a kohlrabi puree which was pretty good. I’ve also put it in a slaw, stir fried and roasted. I love making a massaged kale salad.

     
  6. Beth

    July 4, 2012 at 3:14 pm

    Thanks for the suggestions! I’ll have to check them out!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

