RSS

Talking Turkey…

18 Nov

… or not.

I have yet to host/prepare a Thanksgiving dinner. For us, Thanksgiving weekend starts (and ends) with some quality windshield time. (Yes, we are one of the billion people driving on I-90 through Chicago Wednesday evening. You’ve probably seen us; we’re the car with the wife who’s trying to sleep in the passenger seat while the husband mutters about how Chicago is a miserable city and why would anyone want to live there. Just smile and wave as you pass us. Anyway.) 

The fact that I’m not cooking dinner next Thursday hasn’t stopped me from eyeing up every single Thanksgiving recipe that’s come my way. And there have been a lot of them, let me tell you. From magazines and food blogs to the NY Times, I’ve been up to my ears in recipes. So, I figured I’d share some of them with you… and perhaps I’ll make some time to cook up some of these over the next few weeks.

Turkey: 
Citrus-Roasted Turkey with Lemon Aioli from Southern Living – so different and fresh. Mmmm.
Julia Child’s Stuffed Turkey, Updated from Cook’s Illustrated – I have to admit, this one intimidates me… breaking down an entire turkey?? I had a hard time removing the neck from the last whole chicken we had.

Breads:
Cranberry Swirl Loaf from Taste of Home – I can’t decide if this is breakfast, dessert, or both. I just know that I want some ASAP.
Cranberry Orange Breakfast Buns from Smitten Kitchen – I clearly have a thing for cranberries in my bread. :)

Potato Sides:  
Twice-Baked Sweet Potatoes from Cook’s Illustrated – these look SO good to me. Definitely on my “must make soon” list.
Mashed Potato Casserole with Sour Cream and Chives from the NY Times – No explanation needed here, right?

Veggie Sides:
Green Bean Casserole from Alton Brown via Smitten Kitchen – I think I’m in love with those onions. And I’m trying to figure out how to make this without being overwhelmed by the mushrooms, since I haven’t learned to love them just yet.
Blue Cheese Brussels Sprouts from Apple a Day – I’ve never had Brussels sprouts before, but roasted + blue cheese? How can we go wrong?
Sauteed Cauliflower with Apples and Pecans from Real Simple – I want to add bacon to this one. :)

Sauces/Gravies:
Spicy Red Pepper Cranberry Relish from the NY Times – Different? Yes. Too “out there” for Andy? Possibly. Going on my “things to try soon” list? For sure. :D
Apricot Beet Cranberry Sauce from Farm Fresh Feasts – Also different, but probably less “out there” in Andy’s mind. Can’t wait to try this one.

Desserts: 
Cranberry Sorbet from David Lebovitz, via Brown Eyed Baker – This may be next in line for my ice cream maker.
Apple Slab Pie from Smitten Kitchen – I did actually make this one already! It was fantastic. And we ate way too much of it ourselves. (We did share a little… but not nearly as much as we should have.) It was also my best pie crust to date. :)
Caramel Spiked Pumpkin Pie from “Baking: From My Home To Yours” by Dorie Greenspan, via Annie’s Eats – I’m not a big pumpkin person. Depending what other desserts are available (i.e., my mom’s chocolate pie), I’ve been known to forgo pumpkin pie altogether. But this one has caramel.
Rich Chocolate Tart from Cook’s Illustrated – You’ve may or may not have noticed this, but chocolate desserts are my favorite, hands-down. I’ve had my November issue of CI for a couple weeks now… why haven’t I made this yet???

What do you think? Anything I should add to my list?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 18, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Talking Turkey…

  1. Kirsten

    December 9, 2013 at 8:58 am

    Thanks, Beth, for linking to my ABC sauce!
    In the surprise of the century, I tweaked it this year and added oranges. Meghan’s orange-beet mimosa, plus the wonderful cranberry orange relishes I’ve had, made me think it would be a winner. And it was!
    For the first time I drove the day before Thanksgiving–but still ended up cooking turkey and mashed potatoes at my in-law’s house ;) .

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

