RSS

Chocolate Mint Thumbprint Cookies (for the Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap!)

11 Dec

I spent a lot of time thinking about what cookies I’d make for this year’s swap. I needed a cookie that stored well, shipped well AND still tasted good. The last thing I wanted was for my recipients to open a box of dry, tasteless crumbs. I’ve been thinking about thumbprint cookies for quite a while, and while I didn’t send out my first idea (I didn’t think jam-filled cookies would ship or store well), I was pretty happy with the end result. Especially because it features one of my favorite flavor combinations (after the chocolate/peanut butter combo, of course).

It’s a chocolate-mint cookie with a Hershey’s Mint Tuffle kiss in the middle. They’re rolled in sprinkles for maximum happiness. (Because sprinkles make EVERYTHING better. They’re like the bacon of the cookie world.) I opted for fun, rainbow sprinkles instead of Christmas sprinkles because I mailed these out before Thanksgiving, and I’m opposed to all things Christmas before Thanksgiving. :D

I did double the original recipe, since I knew I’d need at least three dozen for shipping, plus a few extra for quality control purposes, if you know what I mean. :)

I sent boxes to Veronica at My Catholic Kitchen, Micky at What Micky Eats and Angela at the Spinach Tiger. I hope you all enjoyed them!!

I received cookies from Melanie at Aesthetic Eats / The Inside Dish,Tal at Ba-Li Cravings and Chris and Amy at A Couple in the Kitchen. It was so much fun to get boxes of goodies in the mail, and I loved that each cookie was so different. They were all things that I’d never made before, and, as you may have guessed, I’m all about trying new things.

Fbcs Choc Thumb2

Chocolate Mint Thumbprint Cookies

1 1/3 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup unsweetened dark cocoa powder (I used Hershey’s Special Dark.) 
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon mint extract
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
sprinkles, for rolling
Hershey’s Mint Truffle Kisses, unwrapped (I used most of a regular-sized bag.) 

Preheat oven to 375. Line baking sheets with parchment paper and set aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add in the cocoa powder and mix until thoroughly combined. Add the eggs and extracts and beat until well-mixed.

Mix in the baking soda and salt, and then add the flour. Stir until just combined. Cover the mixing bowl with plastic wrap and chill the dough for about an hour (to make it easier to handle).

Roll the chilled dough into 1″ balls and then roll the balls in the sprinkles. Place balls 2 inches apart on parchment lined-sheets. Using your thumb, make an indent in the top of each cookie.

Bake for 7-8 minutes, or until cookies appear set. Remove from the oven, press a kiss into the center of each cookie. Transfer cookies to a wire rack and let cool completely. Store in an airtight container.

Yield: Approximately 4 dozen.

Barely adapted from the Curvy Carrot, who found the recipe in the Ultimate Cookie Book

Click here for a printable version.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on December 11, 2013 in Cookies, Dessert

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “Chocolate Mint Thumbprint Cookies (for the Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap!)

  1. Leslie @ My Kitchen Is Open

    December 11, 2013 at 9:43 am

    Beth, your cookies are so pretty! :) The Mister has been asking me to make him something similar to these. I’m gonna make these and it will totally make his day:D

     
    • Beth

      December 11, 2013 at 7:49 pm

      Aw, thanks!! Hope you both like them! :)

       
  2. themondaybox

    December 11, 2013 at 10:22 am

    So pretty, Beth! Some thumbprint cookies can get…common. Your sprinkled minty version raises them to uncommon. :) The Great Food Blogger Cookie Exchange is fun. It can be a great way to meet new bloggers and try new recipes! :)

     
    • Beth

      December 11, 2013 at 7:49 pm

      Thanks! It’s so fun to “meet” new blogger friends and see what everyone makes!

       
  3. Micky

    December 11, 2013 at 12:47 pm

    Yes – they arrived perfectly! I loved the chocolate mint combo and devoured your cookies quickly! Thank you and Happy Holidays!

     
    • Beth

      December 11, 2013 at 7:50 pm

      So glad to hear it!! I’m glad you liked them. :)

       
  4. Veronica McLaughlin Gantley

    December 12, 2013 at 8:46 am

    Thank you Beth the cookies were wonderful.

     
    • Beth

      December 14, 2013 at 3:35 pm

      You’re welcome! :)

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

