RSS

Putting the Fun in Fondue Night

24 Mar

I’ve mentioned our girls “cooking club” nights before. They’re the brainchild of my friend Emily, and they’re an excellent excuse for me to try something new. (Although, at the rate I read blogs and magazines, I’d need a cooking club night every night to get through my recipe list…) The theme for our most recent night was fondue, and we each brought something to go with a cheese fondue and something for a chocolate fondue. I brought broccoli for the cheese fondue and decided on pound cake for the chocolate. Which meant, of course, that I had to find a pound cake recipe first!

Do you know how many pound cake recipes there are on the internet? More than 13 million, according to Google. And I’m guessing that most of them are probably mediocre and not worth wasting ingredients on. Especially since most recipes call for a LOT of butter. I decided to find a recipe from a trusted source instead and ended up going with one from The Way the Cookie Crumbles. I figured it was a safe bet – after all, Bridget often does comparison posts, and has several pound cake recipes on the blog, so clearly this wasn’t her first rodeo. Plus, she used a Smitten Kitchen recipe, so I figured that the odds were in my favor. :)

I halved the recipe and made it in a loaf pan, rather than a bundt pan. I figured we probably didn’t need an entire bundt cake for our fondue, especially when we had lots of other dippers. (Turns out, the cake was good enough where I wished I would have had a little more left over… what was I thinking again?) I was a little concerned about whether or not the cake would rise, since the recipe doesn’t have any leaveners, but it worked out all right. I noticed that Bridget mentioned possibly using cake flour for some of the AP flour (although she didn’t), and so I figured I’d try that. I loved the almond extract and the white chocolate in this cake, especially because I feel like it’s really easy for pound cakes to be rather, well, blah. It was the perfect consistency for cubing and dunking in chocolate, and the few leftover cubes were a wonderful mid-morning snack at work. :)

PoundCake

White Chocolate Cream Cheese Pound Cake

1 1/2 sticks (12 tablespoons) of unsalted butter, at room temperature, plus extra for the pan
4 ounces cream cheese, at room temperature
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups (10 1/2 ounces) sugar
3 large eggs
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
1/2 teaspoon almond extract
1 1/2 cups (7.2 ounces) of flour (I used a combination of AP and cake flour.) 
1/2 cup chopped white chocolate

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Generously butter a 9″ loaf pan and dust in the inside with flour.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, mix the butter, cream cheese and salt until the mixture is smooth. Gradually add the sugar to the butter mixture while the mixer is running. Increase the mixer speed to high and beat until light and airy, at least five minutes.

Add the eggs to the bowl one at a time, beating well and scraping down the sides of the bowl between each addition. Add the vanilla and almond extracts to the bowl and mix in. Pour the flour into the bowl and mix on low until just incorporated. Stir in the chopped chocolate.

Spread the batter into the prepared loaf pan and bake for 60-75 minutes, or until the cake is golden brown and tests done with a toothpick. Remove the pan from the oven and let cool on a wire rack for 20 minutes. After 20 minutes, invert the pan and turn the cake out onto the wire rack. Allow to cool completely. If serving with fondue, cut into 1″ cubes for optimal skewering. :)

from The Way the Cookie Crumbles, who adapted it from Smitten Kitchen, who adapted it from Staff Meals from Chanterelle

Click here for a printable version.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 24, 2014 in Cakes & Frostings, Dessert

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Putting the Fun in Fondue Night

  1. Charisma

    March 25, 2014 at 12:23 pm

    Mmm would love a glass of that!

     
  2. Kirsten

    March 31, 2014 at 11:50 am

    Having a birthday in December meant my mom needed to be creative with activities–which she was. However, once she made chocolate fondue for my birthday “cake” (candles in an angel food cake) I never wanted another type of “cake” for my birthday. Chocolate fondue for many years after that.
    Yum!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 147 other followers

