RSS

What We’re Eating 5/5 – 5/9

04 May

Happy May! This weekend was the first weekend where I really felt like spring had arrived. It’s been sunny (after a week of rain and clouds) and warm (in the 60s!). It’s enough to make a girl want to go camping! Or, at least get out the grill. :) I also realized that since it’s May, I just have a few weeks left until our CSA starts up again. We’re going with the same farm again this year (Olden Produce), and I am so ready for fresh produce.

Last week, I took advantage of the unseasonably cool weather and made things like this chicken bacon wild rice soup. You know, comfort food. This week, with the exception of our scalloped potatoes and ham, I am moving on. Maybe if I cook like spring is here, it will actually stick around! :)

Monday 5/5 – Chickpea Tomato Pasta. It’s fast and easy, which is a must, because we have big plans for Monday night. Jack is back!!
Tuesday 5/6 – Scalloped Potatoes and Ham. I bought a ham a few weeks ago (when they were on sale for Easter), and I roasted it this weekend. Andy LOVES scalloped potatoes and ham, so I had to put it on the menu.
Wednesday 5/7 – Broccoli Bacon Mac and Cheese. It’s a good way to use up that package of bacon. ;)
Thursday 5/8 –┬áTilapia and lemon-feta couscous with peas.
Friday 5/9 – Enchiladas! I’m going to try this recipe, and I’m hoping that my avocados will be ready by then.

Have a great week, everyone!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 4, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

2 responses to “What We’re Eating 5/5 – 5/9

  1. Jodie Ross

    May 6, 2014 at 3:20 pm

    I wondered where you were from, so I clicked on the link to the produce CSA that you gave. Our CSA has been operating now for about a month and I live in eastern Oregon. We are getting wonderful spinach, lettuces, kale. arugula, and swiss chard already and my weekly visits to pick them up at the local health food store are always exciting. I love all the greens. I was hoping for some nice chickweed in the first offerings with the spinach and arugula but there was none. It is getting a bit late for that now here as it is beginning to warm up too much. This is my first year using a CSA and I am delighted to know in this horrible place we live, there is such a nice thing. tysm for the recipes it helps to get added suggestions for meals. After 50 yrs of cooking meals I tend to fall into ruts.

     
    • Beth

      May 6, 2014 at 8:09 pm

      Thanks! I think it’s neat to see what people in other parts of the U.S. are seeing in their CSAs! Fresh greens sound fantastic right about now. :)

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 147 other followers

