RSS

CSA 2014: Week 3

08 Jul

Happy July! It’s official; we are moving out of the spring produce and in to summer veggies! Sure, we still received lettuce and peas, and there were our first garlic scapes, but we also had zucchini for the second week in a row AND cucumbers. Hello summer. :) (Maybe tomatoes will be next!)

CSA2014 week 3

Week number three included:

1 head of lettuce
1 + lb. of peas (shelling peas, not sugar snaps)
2 cucumbers
2 kohlrabi
2 garlic scapes
1 zucchini
2 summer squash
1 bag of popcorn

We are working our way through the lettuce, slowly but surely. (It doesn’t help that the lettuce in our garden is growing like a weed as well… lots of salads for us.) I wish there was a way to “put up” lettuce for the winter… any ideas? Lettuce pesto? Does that work?

I made our favorite “quick pickles” with some of the cucumbers, and I have been enjoying the rest of them with hummus for lunch. Speaking of hummus, I may make garlic hummus with this week’s scapes. I’m actually undecided about the zucchini and the summer squash. Do I make my go-to fritters or do I make these unpronounceable-yet-totally-delicious-looking Greek fritters that Elly shared? Decisions, decisions. Maybe week four will bring us more zucchini so I won’t have to take sides.

While I won’t make all of the popcorn at once, I will pop some up for our movie date on Friday. (Our city shows movies outdoors during the summer, so this week, we are going to spend some quality time with everyone’s favorite minions.) Total side note… did you see the World Cup as done by the minions? My favorite thing about soccer, for sure. :D

No inspiration yet on the kohlrabi. Thankfully, it’s keeping well in the fridge. Still undecided on the peas too… I think I may have left my inspiration at the beach over the 4th of July… :)

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 8, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “CSA 2014: Week 3

  1. naimavanswol

    July 9, 2014 at 11:24 am

    How lucky you got peas! I’m jealous. 😃

     
    • Beth

      July 9, 2014 at 7:38 pm

      :) Thanks! I finally decided what to do with them… tossing them with pasta, lemon, mint and basil. We’ll see how it turns out!

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

