RSS

What We’re Eating 4/18 – 4/22

17 Apr

I have to admit, I never thought I’d be one of those ultra-organized, super-planner types. And in most areas of my life, I’m not. You should see my filing system… or lack thereof. But for the last couple of years, I’ve made a real effort to be more organized when it comes to our weekly menu. You see, our mornings used to start like this:

Me: Andy, what do you want for dinner tonight? (Of course, I’m asking this at 6:25 a.m. while he’s running out the door trying to get to work.)
Andy: I don’t know; whatever’s easy for you.
Me: You don’t have an opinion? Why am I the only one who puts effort into figuring out what we’ll eat? (In retrospect, that seems like a silly question – I do 99% of the cooking, so it makes sense that I do 99% of the planning.)
Andy: Look, I have to leave for work. See you tonight.

This almost always left me frustrated, staring at the options in the freezer, waiting for inspiration to strike.

Enter the weekly menu plan. I think it’s helped me shop smarter, and I know it’s reduced the stress in our early morning rush. Of course, it’s never set in stone (mostly because we have awesome friends who call at 5 p.m. and say, “Do you want to do dinner?”), but a guideline for the week really helps. I don’t plan for the weekends, unless I know we’re staying home because again, those awesome friends call, and we end up with a last-minute get-together.

With all that said, here’s what we’re planning for this week. It’s a lot of soft foods, since Andy is recovering from gum surgery. 😦 (Moral of this story, kids, always brush and floss!)

4/18 – Monday – Black Bean Avocado Burritos (I have a feeling Andy will just eat the filling and not the tortilla.)
4/19 – Tuesday – Mac & Cheese (I’ve yet to make a successful homemade mac & cheese, so wish me luck!)
4/20 – Wednesday – Pan-fried Tilapia, Smashed Sweet Potato, Salad
4/21 – Thursday – Chickpea Tomato Pasta(This is one of our favorite meatless dinners. Easy, fast and SO good. I’m looking forward to Thursday already.)
4/22 – Friday – This one’s still up in the air. I’d like to grill burgers, have mashed potatoes, and make a toasted marshmallow shake that’s in a cookbook I’m borrowing from the library. Not sure if Andy will be up for eating burgers yet though. I suppose our alternative is scrambled eggs.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 17, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
