RSS

Mmm… soup.

11 Jan

I love soup, especially when it’s cold outside. There’s something particularly comforting about cradling a warm bowl and sipping the hot broth. (Plus, I get to use my chili bowls whenever we have soup! Win!)  Soup is even better on the days when I don’t feel the greatest. And since I’ve been battling the cold of the century this week (right now, I’m not even sure my mother would recognize my voice), we’ve been eating a lot of soup. So far we’ve enjoyed white chicken chili, chicken noodle soup and tortellini soup.

I think tonight’s batch of tortellini soup was improved by two little details: homemade chicken stock and home-canned tomatoes. This past fall was my first time canning anything (although I watched my mom do it for years), and it’s definitely paying off. Opening a can of fresh tomatoes is like getting a whiff of summer. But I’m getting sidetracked. I was going to talk about soup here, right? Right.

This soup is ridiculously easy. I’m talking “weeknight-dinner-after-running-errands-after-work” easy. And it’s good for you! Spinach! Tomato! Garlic! (Don’t worry, there’s also shredded parm and cheese-filled tortellini in there too. ) Plus, it also works well with whatever dark, leafy green you have on hand. (I’ve successfully subbed Swiss chard for the spinach, which was great when that was the only thing our garden was producing this summer.)

I was skeptical the first time I made it, especially since I haven’t always been a huge fan of tomato soup. But it’s good. And Andy likes it too, which makes it even better. 🙂

Mmm... soup.

Tortellini Soup 

Olive oil
1 small onion, diced
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 15 oz. can diced tomatoes, undrained (or 1 pint of home-canned tomatoes, diced)
1/2 tsp. oregano
4 cups chicken or veggie stock (homemade, if possible)
9 oz. cheese tortellini
3 cups chopped spinach (or chard)
freshly shredded Parmesan cheese

In a medium soup pot, heat the olive oil (Annie’s recipe says a tablespoon; I just eyeball it.) over medium heat. Add the onions and cook until they begin to soften, 3-5 minutes. Add the garlic, cook and stir for another 30 seconds to a minute, or just until fragrant. Add the tomatoes and oregano to the pot, stir, and then add the stock. Bring the mixture to a boil, then reduce to a simmer. Add the tortellini and cook according to the package directions (mine usually take around 7 minutes). One minute before the tortellini is done, add in your spinach.* Cook and stir for final minute, until spinach wilts. Serve warm with shredded parm.

*If you use Swiss chard, I’d recommend separating the stems from the leaves and then finely dicing the stems. Saute the diced stems with the onions and then add the leaves at the end. Depending on the size of your chard, it may take longer to wilt than spinach does. 

from Annie’s Eats. 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 11, 2012 in Soups & Stews

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Mmm… soup.

Leave a Reply

 
