RSS

GUACAMOLE!

08 Mar

I love, love, love guac. It took me a while to discover, but I’m hooked now. Guacamole is easily one of my favorite condiments. Whether it’s spread on a sandwich or wrap, dipped on a chip, or just licked eaten straight from the bowl, I can’t get enough of it.

Unfortunately, Andy doesn’t share my love of green-avocado-y goodness. (Maybe that’s a good thing though; if he loved it, I would probably make it a lot more often. And as good as those omega-3s are, I probably don’t need to eat that much guac. Anyway…) So I try to make guac for those events where I know other guac lovers will be. Events like the Super Bowl, for instance.

When I saw this recipe on Two Peas and Their Pod, I was immediately intrigued. Guacamole on crusty bread? Sounds like a winner to me!

I used the Two Peas’ recipe as a guideline, since I like my guac a little less chunky than they do, and I always just eyeball what I put in the guac. But it was well received at the Super Bowl party (and I only ate two or three of them there)!

Guacamole Bruschetta 

1 loaf French bread, sliced about 1/2″ thick
3 ripe avocados, peeled and cut into chunks
1/2 large onion, diced
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 medium jalapeno pepper, seeds and ribs removed, finely chopped
juice of 1 lime
handful of of cilantro, chopped
1 Roma tomato, chopped
pinch salt
dash cumin

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Place the slices of bread on a cookie sheet and toast them in the oven until crisp, about 5-7 minutes. Remove from the oven and let slices cool completely.

In a medium bowl, combine the avocado chunks, onion, garlic, jalapeno, lime juice, tomato, cilantro, salt and cumin. Stir gently (so the avocado doesn’t become completely mushed) until combined. Taste and adjust seasonings as necessary. (I couldn’t tell you how much cumin, lime juice or salt I add each time I make guac… I do it by feel/taste.)

Place a spoonful of guacamole on each slice of bread. Serve immediately.

Side note: If you have extra guacamole afterwards, save the pits from your avocados! When you refrigerate the leftover guac, throw the pits in the bowl. They’ll keep the guacamole from turning brown as fast. 

From Two Peas and Their Pod

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 8, 2012 in Marinades, Dressings & Sauces

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “GUACAMOLE!

Leave a Reply

 
