RSS

Easy as… pie?

24 Apr

Let me just start by saying that I’m not at all sure where that saying came from. Sure, it sounds good, but let’s face it, not all pies are easy. Particularly when it comes to the crust part. Something so basic shouldn’t be so hard, right? I mean, it’s just flour, butter, salt and water, right?

Wrong. At least for me. One of my greatest frustrations stems from the fact that I can’t make a decent pie crust without using shortening. Which is why we’re not going to talk about pie crust tonight. We’re going to talk about pie filling. Peach and raspberry pie filling, to be exact.

Back in March, I saw this recipe for a raspberry peach pie. Two of my favorite fruits, rolled into one tasty dessert. I wasn’t going to let my lack of pie-crust skills stand in my way! (Full disclosure: I didn’t use the pie crust recipe from Delish; I didn’t have the ingredients on hand. Maybe I’ll try it at some point.) 

Raspberry Peach Pie

Pie dough for a double-crust pie (use your own favorite; I’m not posting a recipe for one until I conquer it myself!) 
6 cups peaches, sliced and drained, if using canned (I used my home-canned peaches.) 
1 cup raspberries, thawed if using frozen (which I did, because, come on, it was March in Wisconsin. Fresh ones would have cost as much as a gallon of gas a fortune.) 
1/2 cup sugar
1 tablespoon lemon juice
3 tablespoons cornstarch
1 egg white, beaten
1 teaspoon sugar

Preheat oven to 375.

In a large bowl, combine peaches, raspberries, sugar and lemon juice. Toss gently to coat. Let stand for 5 minutes. Place the fruit mixture in a colander set over a bowl. Let the fruit juices drain into the bowl for about 30 minutes (or as long as you can stand it; I think I got impatient about 25 minutes into the process and quit waiting).

Pour the collected juice into a saucepan and heat over medium heat, cooking until the juice has reduced slightly and darkened in color (probably about 5 minutes). Pour the juice over the reserved fruit and add the cornstarch to the fruit/juice mixture. Toss gently to coat all the fruit and dissolve the cornstarch.

Roll out the pie dough and line the bottom of a 9″ pie pan. Pour the fruit/juice mixture into the pie pan. (Be sure you use a 9″ or larger pan. I did not, and there was significant flowage over the side of the pan, resulting in a lot of shrieking and “Oh NO! STOP! BACK IN THE PAN! EEEK!” which Andy did an excellent job of ignoring.) Roll out the top crust and place it over the fruit. Crimp the edges of the crust together and cut steam vents in the top. Brush the top with egg white and sprinkle with sugar.

Bake until crust is golden brown and pie juices are hot and bubbly. (I’d recommend baking this over a cookie sheet, unless you’re really looking forward to cleaning the inside of your oven…) If the crust browns too quickly, cover with foil. Remove pie from the oven and let cool for an hour or so before serving.

From Delish

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 24, 2012 in Dessert, Pie

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Easy as… pie?

  1. thestuffedflamingo

    April 25, 2012 at 5:36 am

    It looks beautiful and I’m sure it was yummy! I can’t wait for summer make these with fresh fruit!

     

Leave a Reply

 
