RSS

First Fruits

15 May

Rhubarb is one of my favorite things about springtime in Wisconsin. I love its sweet-tart taste (and the fact that it’s a wonderful addition to many desserts, breads and other tasty snacks). Plus, it’s one of the first things that I can pick from our garden.

I haven’t always loved rhubarb though. Maybe it’s because it looks like celery, or maybe it’s just a more grown-up taste. (Mom, if you’re reading this, I’m sorry I didn’t eat the rhubarb cake you made when I was a kid. Send me the recipe so I can try it again!) Either way, I’m trying to make up for lost time now. One of the best ways to do that is to freeze the rhubarb to use later on.

I think the only thing easier than freezing rhubarb is freezing blueberries (which I also do, so I can make a bluebarb pie… YUM). It takes very little time and effort. So, go pick some rhubarb, and freeze whatever you can to make pie muffins bread cake whatever your heart desires long after spring has gone.

You’ll need:
Fresh rhubarb stalks, leaves removed
Ziploc (or your favorite off-brand) freezer bags, quart-sized
Measuring cup or food scale
Sharpie
Paring knife
Cutting board

First, wash off any dirt on your rhubarb and trim off the ends.

Then slice the rhubarb into small, uniform chunks. (I’m not so great at the uniform part…)

Measure the chopped rhubarb into the Ziploc bags. (Yes, I realize these aren’t Ziploc bags. I’m not brand-loyal.) 

Seal, label,date and freeze! You’re done! Then you can make things like this:

Rhubarb Squares

and this:

 
8 Comments

Posted by on May 15, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “First Fruits

  1. Katie Glynn

    May 16, 2012 at 9:27 am

    I’d love your rhubarb recipes! I have overgrown rhubarb in my back yard! 🙂

     
  2. Bethany

    June 18, 2013 at 4:27 pm

    Here it is, Beth! You were right. 🙂 Thank you!

     
    • Beth

      June 19, 2013 at 8:14 pm

      You’re welcome! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
