RSS

What We’re Eating: Camping Edition

16 May

As soon as the days get longer and the weather warms up, I get the camping bug. Lazy afternoons in a hammock, smores and pie iron pizzas around the fire, walks through the woods, sunsets by the lake… these are a few of my favorite things.

Thankfully, Andy loves camping even more than I do, which means it doesn’t take much convincing to get him to pack up the car and drive to the park. (In fact, he loves it enough to go camping/backpacking when it’s snowing and the temperature hovers near zero. Crazy! But that’s another story, for another day…) And since we’ve had beautiful weather here since March, I have been itching to get outside for the weekend.

As much as I love getting outside and roughing it (Yes, I willingly stay at rustic campground with pit toilets and no showers. I said I like camping, not that I look or smell good doing it!), there’s one thing I’m not willing to compromise on: the food. If we’re going camping, we’re going to eat well. No hot dogs and re-hydrated instant food, thank you very much. Good food doesn’t take that much more effort, and let’s face it: If I’m hiking 14 miles,  I’m going to do it on a full stomach.

For camping menus, I break things down into specific meals, and I try to make ingredients perform double duty. For instance, if we’re having kabobs, we’ll also have pizza pies and use the peppers, onions and pineapple for both. I also do as much prep work at home, so 90% of the chopping and marinating is done, which makes dinner at the campsite so much easier. I’ve also started packing any meat that’s marinating in my Pyrex bowls, which has eliminated a lot of leaky Ziplocs in the cooler!

Our assembly line for pie iron pizzas! I love my tiny little jar of spices – it’s perfect for camping! It has curry, cayenne pepper, salt, black pepper, garlic salt and paprika.

For this trip, we have two dinners, two lunches and two breakfasts, along with the must-haves snacks and desserts.

Dinner #1: Pork chops, roasted carrots, onion and potatoes (Pork gets cooked over the fire, and the veggies get roasted in a foil packet in the coals. Virtually no clean-up. Great for that first night, because we’re all but guaranteed to be eating in the dark.)
Dinner #2: Pie Iron Pizzas, topped with pepperoni, pineapple, peppers and onions (My all-time favorite camping meal. It’s even better if you can find the mini pepperonis for the pizzas… unfortunately, my store was sold out of them when I went shopping. 😦 Boo.) 

Breakfast #1: Muffins, fruit, sausage
Breakfast #2: Cereal, fruit, muffins (We try to keep breakfasts simple on the day we’re packing things up.) 

Lunch #1: Sandwiches, raw veggies, fruit (Easy to put together and very portable. After all, you might not even be at the campsite at lunchtime!) 
Lunch #2: Sandwiches, raw veggies, fruit

Snacks/Desserts: Smores (a must-have!), Ranch Chex Mix and Pie Iron Pies (with raspberry filling this time!)

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 16, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “What We’re Eating: Camping Edition

  1. Andrea Sutherland

    May 16, 2012 at 9:07 pm

    Where are you camping this weekend?

     
    • Beth

      May 17, 2012 at 5:42 am

      Just at High Cliff – nothing too exotic this time!

       

Leave a Reply

 
