RSS

Taking the easy way

23 May

Ever stumble on a recipe and think, “there’s no way this will work; it’s way too simple”? That’s how I felt about this marinade the first time I saw it. Three ingredients? No herbs? Color me skeptical. (I think it’s because, deep down, I like the complicated recipes. Not every night, and definitely not on days that feel way too long, but I really enjoy a good kitchen challenge. It’s my own personal Everest. Anyway…) 

Consider me converted. This is now my go-to pork chop marinade. I toss the chops with it in the morning, pop them in the fridge and go to work. Come home, throw them on the grill or in the oven, whip up a side (roasted cauliflower, roasted sweet potatoes, roasted broccoli, roasted potatoes… hmm, I’m detecting a pattern here), toss a salad together and bam! Dinner’s done. It’s tasty enough for company, easy enough for Monday night. (And you can take a guess at how I feel about Monday nights…) And it’s quick. As in, “I forgot to do something with those chops and we have guests stopping by in an hour” quick.

You get to see the ingredients here, since I was too busy eating to take a picture of the finished chops. Once you make this, you’ll understand why.

Juicy Pork Chop Marinade 

1/4 cup soy sauce
2-4 cloves of garlic, minced
1-2 teaspoons of fresh cracked pepper

Combine the ingredients in a glass measuring cup. Pour over pork chops and let marinate for at least 30 minutes, or up to 24 hours. Cook pork chops as desired. (I recommend the grill or over a campfire, like we did last week. Yum.) Makes enough marinade to cover 5-6 boneless chops. 

Adapted from AllRecipes.com

 
7 Comments

Posted by on May 23, 2012 in Marinades, Dressings & Sauces

 

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “Taking the easy way

  1. thestuffedflamingo

    May 25, 2012 at 2:59 am

    Yum! I like easy!

     
  2. thestuffedflamingo

    May 29, 2012 at 12:19 pm

    btw, i’m totally trying this recipe tonight. The pork chops are marinading right now 🙂

     
  3. Beth

    May 29, 2012 at 5:35 pm

    Nice! I think I’m going to make it again later this week.

     

Leave a Reply

 
