RSS

Fruit Pizza?!

17 Jun

No, not that kind of fruit pizza. I’ve made that one before, with the cream cheese over cookie dough and the fresh fruit on top. And while I love that kind of fruit pizza, it’s not really one that I feel I can justify having for dinner. Breakfast, maybe, but dinner, not so much.

As soon as Annie posted her recipe for strawberry balsamic pizza, I was intrigued. I love a spinach salad with strawberries and balsamic dressing, so taking that flavor combination to a pizza definitely had my attention. Andy was skeptical, but since he’s a willing test subject, he agreed to give it a go.

I scaled back the sriracha in the sauce because I wanted Andy to like the pizza, but I think I went too far the other way, as the spice wasn’t prominent at all. So next time, I would use 3/4 of a teaspoon, instead of just 1/2 a teaspoon. I’d also scale the chicken back to 1/2 a cup, rather than a full cup, and I think I’d like to try it with some feta or blue cheese as well. And next time, I think I’ll try it on the grill, since almost everything’s better grilled!

I realize this is a terrible picture, but I decided that eating dinner was more important than the perfect picture.

Strawberry Balsamic Bacon Pizza

1 batch pizza dough (I use the recipe that came with my Kitchen Aid mixer. It comes together quickly and hasn’t failed me yet!)
olive oil, for brushing the crust
1/2 cup cooked chicken breast, diced or shredded
4 slices of bacon, cooked until crisp and then crumbled
1/2 cup thinly sliced onion
4 ounces shredded mozzarella cheese
2 ounces parmesan cheese (or feta)
2-3 teaspoons minced fresh cilantro
1/2 cup fresh strawberries, chopped
1/4 balsamic vinegar
1/2 cup strawberry jam
3/4 teaspoon sriracha chili sauce

Pour the vinegar into a small saucepan and place over medium heat. Simmer until the vinegar has thickened and reduced by about half. Stir in the strawberry jam and chili sauce. Set aside.

Preheat the oven to 500 degrees and place a pizza stone (if you have one) in the oven to preheat. If you’re not using a pizza stone, simply brush a pizza pan with the oil and dust with cornmeal.

Build your pizza! Roll out the dough to a 12-14″ circle (do this on parchment paper if you’re using a pizza stone, otherwise, simply roll it out in your pizza pan). Brush the edges of the dough with olive oil, and then spread the strawberry sauce on the pizza crust. Sprinkle the pizza with chicken, bacon, onions and cheese, then top with the strawberries and cilantro.

Transfer the pizza to the preheated stone, if using. Bake for 12 minutes or so, or until the crust is browned and the cheese in bubbly. Allow to cool for a few minutes before cutting and serving.

From Annie’s Eats

 
10 Comments

Posted by on June 17, 2012 in Main Dishes

 

Tags: , ,

10 responses to “Fruit Pizza?!

Leave a Reply

 
