RSS

CSA Week #2

20 Jun

We went green this week, with lots of veggies!

Here’s a picture of this week’s loot:

You’re looking at a pound of sugar snap peas, six ounces of Swiss chard, two summer squash, one zucchini, 11 garlic scapes and a bag of popcorn.

Half of those peas went into our dinner, along with all of the Swiss chard. (I only had about half of the spinach on hand, so I used the chard to fill in.)

Trying new things is one of my favorite parts of getting produce from a CSA. At the grocery store, I tend to stick to the same things – broccoli, cauliflower, lettuce… you get the idea. With the CSA share, we get what we get, and that’s a great way to think outside the box. This week, the garlic scapes are the newbies in my box. I’ve never tried them before, so it’ll be fun to see what recipes I can find for them!

Meanwhile, our own garden is thriving, thanks to some much-needed rain. Which means I’ll be picking some chard of our own pretty soon! Gotta love it – even if I don’t love the weeds…

 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 20, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

6 responses to “CSA Week #2

  1. inherchucks

    June 21, 2012 at 12:13 am

    Looks like a nice haul. I have never had garlic scapes but many of the participants of my link party seem to incorporate them into delicious meals.

    Come and check out this week’s link party and add this post. http://inherchucks.com/2012/06/20/whats-in-the-box-31/. Hope to see you there!

     
  2. fluffybuttfarms

    June 21, 2012 at 9:26 am

    Oh, garlic scapes! I make pesto with them. I’ve never gotten them in any of my CSAs but I pick them up at the Farmer’s Market. Just make pesto like usual and then instead of adding basil, add the scapes. It’s fantastic as-is over pasta or I like it spread on a pizza crust. It’s a little zippier than normal pesto, but in a good way.

     
    • Beth

      June 21, 2012 at 4:03 pm

      Oooh, thanks! I’ll have to give that a try!

       
  3. annierie

    June 21, 2012 at 6:24 pm

    Garlic scape pesto and garlic scape hummus. I made both this year.

    Pesto uses scapes instead of basil, add parmesan and pine nuts. Process while drizzling the oil into it. Pepper, and maybe a little salt if the Parm isn’t enough.

    Hummus is super easy.

    1/3 cup chopped scapes
    1 15 ounce can organic cannellini beans drained and washed.
    Lemon juice
    Salt
    Pepper
    Olive oil

    Process the scapes first in the food processor with some salt and pepper. Add the can of beans and continue processing. Drizzle oil into tube to get consistency you want. Sitr a little lemon juice in before storing.

    Really, really good.

     
    • Beth

      June 21, 2012 at 6:26 pm

      Thanks! I’ll have to give it a try!

       
  4. rootsandshoots

    June 21, 2012 at 7:56 pm

    I’ve never had garlic scapes, but now I’m intrigued. I love that you got popcorn. That’s unique.

     

Leave a Reply

 
