RSS

Chocolate Love

01 Jul

This past week, I tackled the biggest baking challenge of my life thus far. (And no, I don’t think I’m exaggerating here.) I made (and successfully transported!) a wedding cake!

The bride is a girl after my own heart – this was a chocolate cake with chocolate frosting. After all, if we’re going to have cake, why bother with anything else?

In spite of my somewhat irrational concerns (would the top layers crush the bottom layer? would the cake topple over in the fridge? what if the power goes out and the entire thing melts in the 90+ degree heat?), things went smoothly! I baked the cake layers on Monday, then froze them so they’d be easier to work with. I then made the frosting on Tuesday and began crumb coating on Wednesday. Thursday was the final coat of frosting, then doweling and assembly! Friday afternoon, I added the flowers and then sat with the cake on my lap while Andy carefully navigated around every bump in the road between our home and the reception site. (And then we went to Chipotle to celebrate… mmm, burritos.)

So, a big congrats to Katie and Daniel! Thanks for trusting me to be a part of your special day! 🙂

Close-up of the flowers and detail on the cake.

Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting 

8 ounces of cream cheese
1 stick of butter, room temperature
1/3 cup of dark chocolate cocoa powder
4 cups powdered sugar, sifted
1 tablespoon vanilla
1-2 tablespoons milk or cream, as desired

In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat the butter and cream cheese together until light and fluffy. Add in the cocoa and powdered sugar and mix until well combined. Increase the speed on the mixer and beat until frosting is light and fluffy (in texture, not color… we’re talking chocolate here!). Mix in the vanilla and then thin with milk or cream to reach desired consistency.

Store extra (umm, what?) in the fridge, or spread it on brownies, graham crackers, etc.

*Side note: I find this frosting a little too soft for super detailed piping. It works well for something basic, like the simple round trim I put between the layers of the cake, or for the large swirl on these cupcakes, but I can’t get it to hold up for stars or ruffles. But maybe that’s because it’s 95 degrees out. 

(This is my favorite chocolate frosting. It’s smooth and dark, super chocolaty, but not overly sweet. I could eat with a spoon, but I tried to restrain myself and only put it on the cake.)

From Peace, Love & French Fries

Chocolate Cake

2 cups & 2 tablespoons sugar
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cups & 1 tablespoon cocoa powder
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 large eggs
1 cup milk
1/2 cup vegetable oil
2 teaspoons vanilla
1 cup boiling water

Preheat oven to 350. If using round cake pans, butter and flour pans then line with parchment paper. If making cupcakes, line cupcake pans with liners.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, sift the sugar, flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt together. Set aside.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the eggs, milk, oil and vanilla. Pour the egg mixture into the mixing bowl and mix for 30 seconds on low. Increase the speed to medium and beat for two minutes. After two minutes, pour in the boiling water, then mix briefly to combine. (The batter will be thin – do not panic!) 

Pour cake batter into prepared pans and bake until cakes test done with a toothpick. (It takes about 30 minutes for me to do the 9″ cake and about 20 minutes for cupcakes.) 

Remove from the oven and let cool on a wire rack for 10-15 minutes. Remove cake from pans and allow to cool completely before frosting.

This is my go-to chocolate cake. It makes enough for two 8″ or 9″ pans, or for 24 cupcakes. I obviously made a couple of batches to make the wedding cake! 

From Annie’s Eats

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 1, 2012 in Cakes & Frostings, Dessert

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Chocolate Love

Leave a Reply

 
