RSS

CSA Week #5

14 Jul

One of my favorite things about summer (besides longer days, camping and fresh strawberries) is sweet corn! I can eat an embarrassingly large quantity of corn on the cob. Needless to say, the sweet corn we got this week was gone almost immediately. (And yes, I did share with Andy.)

So, what else did we get? One head of cabbage, half a pound of green beans, one cucumber and two more of those funny yellow zucchini.

I made “quick pickles” with the cucumber and coleslaw with half of the cabbage. We’ve been enjoying the green beans as well. I wasn’t wowed by last week’s yellow zucchini when we grilled it, so I’m considering roasting this batch.

I also picked up our fruit order this week. (It’s not affiliated with our CSA.) Each year, we go in on a large order of cherries, blueberries and peaches. I brought home one bushel of peaches, 20 pounds of blueberries and 15 pounds of cherries. I’ll freeze some of the blueberries and cherries, and I’ll can some of the peaches. I may make some peach jam again (last year’s batch was well-received and eaten very quickly), and I saw a cherry chocolate chip ice cream recipe that is just begging dying demanding asking to be made. Oh, and there’s always those peach wine coolers. Not to mention the fact that Andy is more than willing eat his weight in fruit. We’ll go through it quickly, I’m sure.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on July 14, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

7 responses to “CSA Week #5

  1. Bonnie Baldwin GRANDMA

    July 14, 2012 at 7:05 pm

    Hi Beth, I am so proud of you. You can just like your mother & also me. I am going to try making your wine cooler recipe, Miss you. Love you

     
    • Beth

      July 14, 2012 at 10:09 pm

      Aww, thanks Grandma! I’m nowhere near as talented as you and Mom – I need more practice! Miss and love you too!

       
  2. inherchucks

    July 15, 2012 at 1:00 am

    I’m with you 100%…LOVE summer sweet corn 🙂

    Come and link up to this week’s party…http://inherchucks.com/2012/07/11/whats-in-the-box-34/. Looking forward to seeing you there!

     
  3. Jenny

    July 15, 2012 at 9:01 pm

    I’ve seen lots of recipes for stuffed patty pan squash that look really similar to those yellow zucchini so that might be something to try with them.

     
    • Beth

      July 16, 2012 at 6:22 am

      Ooh, thanks! I’ll have to look that up.

       

Leave a Reply

 
