RSS

Cherry on Top!

23 Jul

Remember that box of Rainer cherries? I still haven’t gotten around to freezing any, but we have been eating them hand over fist. As good as they are straight up, I knew that I wanted to make at least one thing with them. And once I saw this recipe on Love and Olive Oil, I knew that ice cream was going to be that one thing.

This was super easy to throw together (in fact, I mixed everything up at 10 p.m. one night after making a batch of jam and froze it the next morning before work), and it froze beautifully, with a creamy consistency. In fact, Andy thought that the texture and flavor of this was “too good” to be homemade and that it tasted like a “fancy” store-bought ice cream. I think that means I’ve gotten better at this homemade ice cream thing!

I followed the recipe to the letter, except for subbing chocolate chips for the chopped chocolate and using cow’s milk instead of almond milk (because it was late, and I wasn’t running to the store for half a cup of almond milk, and I figured chocolate chips would be easier than chopping chocolate). Since I didn’t have almond milk, I upped the amount of almond extract just a hair. I do think that if you used chocolate almond milk, you could end up with chocolate cherry chocolate chip ice cream, and that might be even better.

Cherry Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

1 1/2 cups heavy whipping cream
1/2 cup milk (Feel free to use almond milk if you have it on hand – decrease the almond extract to 1/4 teaspoon if you do this!) 
8 ounces of Rainer or Bing cherries, pitted
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon almond extract
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
pinch salt
3 ounces dark chocolate chips

In the blender or a large bowl (I went with the bowl route and my immersion blender), combine the cream, milk, sugar, extracts and six ounces of the cherries. Pulse/puree until the cherries are finely chopped.

Add in the remaining cherries and pulse until they are coarsely chopped.

Freeze in an ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s directions. (A big thanks to Janelle for letting me borrow hers!) In the last few minutes of churning, add in the chocolate chips.

Remove ice cream from maker and freeze until firm, at least four hours.

From Love and Olive Oil

 
7 Comments

Posted by on July 23, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “Cherry on Top!

  1. Bonnie Baldwin GRANDMA

    July 23, 2012 at 8:27 pm

    Hi Beth this ice cream sounds good but do you have an ice cream maker for your Kitchen Aid mixer or do you do it the old way?

     
    • Beth

      July 24, 2012 at 5:38 am

      Hey Grandma! I don’t have the attachment for my Kitchen Aid (yet! I’m hoping to get one at some point!), but I borrowed a friend’s ice cream maker for this one. Because it’s a smaller batch, I didn’t think it would work well in our old-fashioned ice cream maker. (Plus, I wasn’t organized enough to have enough ice on hand to try it!)

       
  2. inherchucks

    July 23, 2012 at 11:59 pm

    yummy! There is nothing better than a batch of homemade ice cream to cool you down during the warm summer months 🙂

    Come and share this delicious goodness with the rest of the CSA link party…http://inherchucks.com/2012/07/19/whats-in-the-box-35/. Hope to see you there!

     
  3. Melissa

    September 6, 2012 at 10:02 pm

    This looks AMAZING… starving!

     
    • Beth

      September 6, 2012 at 10:13 pm

      Thanks!

       

Leave a Reply

 
