RSS

The One and Only

08 Aug

Andy likes 90% of the food I make (bacon cheesecake aside), and it’s safe to say that he loves the vast majority of the desserts that come out of my kitchen (besides those lime meltaways). If he had to pick just one thing, and declare it his favorite, it would be my chocolate chip cookies.

These aren’t fancy, extravagant cookies. They’re not as showy as other desserts. None of that matters to Andy. He’ll take these over anything else, and, if you ask him, I don’t need any cookie cookbooks. We have perfection right here. I’m almost sure he married me because of these cookies.

The recipe’s so simple, I have it memorized. Good thing too, since I’ve probably made hundreds of batches of these. (OK, so it might not be hundreds. I haven’t counted.) It also is suspiciously similar to the recipes you see on the back of the chocolate chip bag, even though you’ll note that I don’t cite Tollhouse or Hershey for this recipe source. As far as I’m concerned, it’s my mom’s. If I’ve made hundreds of these cookies, my mom has made thousands (and that total’s probably not too far off from the truth).

It’s also easily adaptable. You can swap out 1/4 cup of the flour for cocoa powder to get chocolate-chocolate-chip cookies. You can use half chocolate and half white chocolate chips. You can bake them as drop cookies or bar cookies. If you bake them as bar cookies, you can cut them out in cute shapes. (Whenever I make them as bar cookies, I underbake them just a little. They’re just better that way.) You can freeze the dough in balls, so you have dough on hand to eat bake whenever the mood strikes.

Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 cup (2 sticks) of unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla (a little extra never hurts) 
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour*
1 package (12 ounces) semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375.

In a large mixing bowl, combine the butter and sugars. Cream together until light and fluffy. Add the vanilla and eggs and beat well. Stir in the baking soda and salt. Stir in the flour and mix until just combined.

Add in the the chocolate chips and stir till combined.

Drop 1″ balls of dough on to ungreased cookie sheets, spaced about 2″ apart. Bake for 8 minutes, or until golden brown. Remove cookies to a wire rack and allow to cool.

Store in an airtight container. (I honestly have no idea how long these keep. We’ve never had them last more than a few days!)

To bake as bar cookies:
Spread the dough in an ungreased 9″ x 13″ pan. Bake for 25 minutes, or until golden brown and set. (Like I said before, I’m a big fan of underbaking these.) Allow cookies to cool before cutting into squares (or cute shapes with cookie cutters).

To freeze the dough: 
Place 1″ balls of dough on an ungreased cookie sheet, making sure the balls of dough don’t touch each other. Place cookie sheet in a freezer and freeze until firm, at least 30 minutes. When dough is frozen solid, transfer to a ziploc bag. Seal the bag, pressing out as much air as possible, then label and date. Freeze until ready to use. To bake frozen dough, simply add a minute or two to the baking time.

*A note about measuring the flour: I know the “right” way to measure flour is to spoon it into a measuring cup and then level the cup with a knife. Every time I’ve tried that with this recipe, I’ve had problems with the cookies turning out. Growing up, my mom would just scoop the measuring cup into the flour container and measure the flour that way. So that’s what I do with this recipe to get the best results. 

From my mom

 
8 Comments

Posted by on August 8, 2012 in Cookies, Dessert

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “The One and Only

  1. thestuffedflamingo

    August 8, 2012 at 6:15 am

    How cute! Way to go Beth!

     
    • Beth

      August 8, 2012 at 6:18 am

      Thanks! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
