RSS

CSA Week #12

04 Sep

Week 12! I can’t believe that August is gone and fall is knocking at the door. Thankfully, we still have eight more weeks of CSA goodness left.

Week 12’s loot included four ears of corn, two giant bell peppers, a head of broccoli, one cucumber, a pint of cherry tomatoes, two slicer tomatoes, two “stuffing” tomatoes, a bunch of basil and two summer squash.

Since we left Friday morning for a long weekend camping on Lake Huron, I tried to use as many of the veggies before we went. The basil went into pesto, which got packed into the cooler Friday morning. The slicer tomato went into pico de gallo, which we enjoyed campfire-side. The corn was destined for a hot night in the fire – we wrapped it in foil with some butter and garlic and roasted it in the coals. The cherry tomatoes went into our pizza pies, and the cucumber was sliced and eaten “just as God made it.” ๐Ÿ™‚ The summer squash, well… let’s just say that wasn’t my shining moment in the kitchen. I’m not even going to link to the recipe I tried. I’ll turn the last one into fritters or “fries” instead.

I didn’t get to use the broccoli before we left, so it went into tonight’s dinner – a chicken and orzo salad with Swiss chard, cherry tomatoes and broccoli.

Check out all of the veggies at InHerChucks’ link party! I’ve got to see if anyone else has those “stuffing” tomatoes.

 

 
5 Comments

Posted by on September 4, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “CSA Week #12

  1. inherchucks

    September 5, 2012 at 12:33 am

    That multi-colored pepper is gorgeous!

    Thanks for linking up and sharing your goodies ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  2. Brigid

    September 5, 2012 at 1:06 pm

    Look at all those tomatoes! How fun. I wish my CSA included corn, but I haven’t received any yet. I do, however, have summer squash and cucumbers coming out of my ears.

     
  3. Tammy

    September 6, 2012 at 7:17 am

    I love stuffing those tomatoes with a spinach rice mixture.

     
    • Beth

      September 6, 2012 at 10:13 pm

      Ooh, that’s a good idea.

       
  4. Lucy

    September 6, 2012 at 9:56 pm

    A great representation of summer!

     

Leave a Reply

 
