RSS

New Favorite Condiment

22 Sep

Or, at least, my favorite after some good guacamole. (Apparently I like green dips. Who knew?) I discovered this one while I was searching for a solution to our squash situation. While the soup didn’t rate high enough to go into our regular rotation, this avocado lime cream blew me away. I ate it on stuffed peppers, in tacos, on pretzels and then proceeded to lick the container clean. (What? Waste not, want not! 😉 ) 

It was a welcome addition to taco night, and Arron, Karen’s hubby and the master of sauces, gave it a thumbs up. Best of all, it’s super easy to throw together – always a good thing in my book.

I realize this isn’t a picture of JUST the cream. I also made homemade lime tortilla chips and salsa verde. It just happens to be my favorite of the photos.In case you’re wondering, the cream is on the left, the salsa verde on the right.

Avocado Lime Cream

1/2 cup sour cream (I used the reduced fat)
1 avocado, sliced
handful of cilantro, large stems discarded
juice of one lime
1/4 teaspoon salt

Combine the ingredients in a blender or food processor. (I use a glass bowl and my immersion blender.) Process until smooth and creamy. Store in the refrigerator.

The flavors meld together after some time in the fridge, so I like to make this 12-24 hours in advance.

From Erin’s Food Files

 
9 Comments

Posted by on September 22, 2012 in Marinades, Dressings & Sauces

 

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “New Favorite Condiment

  1. Lucy

    September 22, 2012 at 4:18 pm

    This looks incredibly tasty- thank you for the recipe!

     
    • Beth

      September 22, 2012 at 4:29 pm

      Thanks!!

       
  2. thestuffedflamingo

    September 23, 2012 at 6:34 am

    Is it really 14 teaspoons of salt?

     
    • Beth

      September 23, 2012 at 12:18 pm

      Hahaa… whoops. NO. It’s not. It’s 1/4 teaspoon. Let me go change that…

       
      • thestuffedflamingo

        September 23, 2012 at 2:27 pm

        I thought so..but just wanted to make sure 🙂

         
      • Beth

        September 23, 2012 at 4:15 pm

        thanks for catching it for me! 🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
