RSS

CSA Week #15

23 Sep

It’s fall! Time for apples, sweaters, football, pretty leaves and crisp air. If I had to pick a favorite season, it would be now. I think, anyway. I love certain things about each season, so if you ask me at the start of winter, I’ll probably start raving about the beautiful falling snow. Which I’ll be sick of by the end of February, but that’s another story…

Even though it’s fall, the CSA love continues! We’ve had some frost lately, so it’ll be interesting to see what we keep receiving for the next five weeks. This week’s box had some great veggies though, including what I’m assuming is the last of the summer’s corn on the cob. Again, I couldn’t bring myself to cook with it. It’s just too good on the cob, slathered in butter and salt.

Here’s a pic of our loot:

In addition to the corn on the cob, we received another patty pan squash, two green peppers, two poblano peppers, a bunch of radishes, an acorn squash and a large tomato that they called an “old German.”

I was thrilled about the poblanos. I roasted them and used them with last week’s tomatillos, creating this salsa. The cherry tomatoes also made an appearance at taco night, along with some of the green peppers we’d received over the last few weeks. Both squashes are waiting for the right recipe to come along. I’d still like to stuff the patty pans – I think I have four in the fridge now. Maybe this week!

Now, about those radishes. I like a raw radish every once in a while. Andy’s not sure he likes them raw at all. I’m thinking about roasting them. After all, it worked with the kohlrabi. And we LOVE roasted cauliflower, sweet potatoes, carrots, you name it. And don’t these look like roasted potatoes? (And we know how much I love potatoes.) What do you think? And does anyone know if you can do anything with the radish greens?

Want to see more veggie goodness? Check out the link party at InHerChucks!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on September 23, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “CSA Week #15

  1. Brigid

    September 23, 2012 at 5:32 pm

    I have never cooked radishes before, probably because I love them raw so much. You’ll have to post how the roasted ones turn out!

     
    • Beth

      September 29, 2012 at 4:02 pm

      The roasted radishes were OK – we liked them better than raw ones, but if you love them raw, I’d stick with enjoying them that way!

       
  2. Lauren

    September 23, 2012 at 7:59 pm

    Radish greens add a great spicy kick to salads!

    I don’t think I could bring myself to cook radishes, either. Have you tried slicing them really thin or shaving them, even? That could cut down on the eye-popping-ness of them (sure, that’s a word).

     
  3. Lynn

    September 23, 2012 at 8:52 pm

    That salsa looks interesting…might have to try it since i have all those ingredients in my fridge just begging to be made into something delicious!

    i haven’t tried it yet – but you can make this soup (http://www.marthastewart.com/315163/radish-greens-soup?czone=food/produce-guide-cnt/spring-produce-recipes&center=276955&gallery=274898&slide=259790) with the radish greens. i found this recipe the last time we got radishes in our CSA box and i was trying to figure out what to do with them. Unfortunately i had already chopped the greens off and disposed of them (oops!) by the time i found this recipe.

     
  4. inherchucks

    September 23, 2012 at 9:27 pm

    Thanks for linking up! I love the multicolored pepper…so pretty 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
