RSS

CSA Week #16

29 Sep

Frost or not, our CSA keeps on giving! Check out this week’s loot!

Look at this goodness! I was pretty pumped about this assortment of goodies. I mean, what’s not to love about beets? And lettuce! Onion! Banana peppers! Kale! And one of my favorite squashes – spaghetti squash. I’ve actually never seen one that’s striped.Andy thinks it looks just like a watermelon, and I don’t think either of us would be shocked if we cut into it and found juicy pink fruit! I would be a little disappointed though, if that was the case – I can’t wait to make this shrimp and squash dish.

And let’s not forget about the last item: green tomatoes! I’ve never done anything with them, but I saw a recipe for fried green tomato BLTs, so I think that sounds like a good place to start. I’m open to more ideas though!

Dinner tonight is ravioli and chard soup with a nice side salad, so there goes the lettuce. I’m sure that I’ll roast the beets, probably with some of the carrots from our garden. I’m not sure what to do with the kale though. Do I try kale chips? Hmm. I’ll have to ponder that – feel free to leave me a suggestion!

Our garden is just about done for the year, with the exception of some Swiss chard. (Honestly, it’s the only thing that seems to thrive in our mediocre soil.) Andy pulled our carrots this week, and we had one of our best crops yet! I put six bags in the freezer this morning, and I still have about a pound left to enjoy. I love being able to pull a bag of carrots out in January and still taste the garden freshness.

Don’t forget to check out InHerChuck’s link party to see more CSA goodness!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 29, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “CSA Week #16

  1. Lauren

    September 30, 2012 at 2:47 pm

    Fried green tomatoes is definitely the way to go! Love them. I made some simple ones a while back, and they were delicious.

    I totally thought watermelon when I saw that squash!

     

Leave a Reply

 
