RSS

Winner, Winner, Chicken Dinner!

30 Sep

I have a lot of memories attached to food. Some are good (Mom’s chocolate pie), some aren’t so good (meatloaf.. ugh). Have no fear, this recipe is tied to a good food memory. My grandma makes really good chicken sandwiches. I grew up eating these at family reunions on a bun with a thick onion slice, or scarfing them down as quickly as possible after church on Christmas Eve. (The sooner dinner was over, the sooner we moved on to more important things like tearing into our gifts taking the annual Christmas picture.) I even made sure these sandwiches made an appearance at my graduation party.

Since I’m now several hundred miles away, I don’t get to enjoy Grandma’s chicken sandwiches nearly as often as I’d like. So I set out to make the sandwiches myself. I knew they’d be perfect for our small group get together. Unfortunately, I couldn’t find the recipe in my cookbook or recipe box, which meant I had to wing it. Lucky for us (and our dinner guests!) my reincarnation came pretty close to Grandma’s original!

I served this with “roasted roots” – radishes and beets – and salt and vinegar chips. Mmmm… tasty.

Grandma’s Shredded Chicken 

1 roasted chicken, shredded*
3 cups sauce or chicken stock*
1 small onion, diced
3 tablespoons olive oil
5 tablespoons flour
1 tablespoon dried parsley
salt and pepper, to taste

Heat a large stock pot over medium heat and add the olive oil. Saute the onions (and garlic if using, see note) until soft and just starting to brown. Add the flour and cook for a few minutes, or until the flour paste smells toasty. Slowly whisk in the stock or pan sauce, whisking to remove any lumps. Cook, stirring often, until the broth thickens.

Add the shredded chicken and parsley, and season with salt and pepper. Simmer over low heat until heated through. Serve on buns, with onion and tomato.

This freezes well, so if you have more than you can eat in a reasonable amount of time, toss it in the freezer for a quick meal later on!

For serving: 
hamburger buns
sliced onion
sliced tomato

*Here are my thoughts about the chicken and the sauce: I roasted a large (6+ pounds) chicken the day before, using Annie’s recipe. (Which is fantastic. If you’re into roasted garlic and things like that. And really, who isn’t?) So I used the chicken that we didn’t eat for the sandwiches the next day. I had enough meat to fill my largest Pyrex bowl, and I used the leftover pan sauce from the chicken as the liquid in this recipe, along with some water to get the quantity I needed. If you don’t have the time (or desire) to roast a chicken, you could always pick up a rotisserie chicken from the store. You may want to add some garlic when you saute the onion in that case.

Inspired by my Grandma.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 30, 2012 in Chicken, Main Dishes

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Winner, Winner, Chicken Dinner!

  1. Grandma Baldwin

    October 2, 2012 at 8:08 am

    Hi Beth, I just seen this on my computer. I am sorry you didn’t find my recipe for chicken sandwishes because everyone here knows what we use. I bought chicken out of a can but you can use what you did for the chicken too. We use cream of chicken soup in it and then when it gets hot to add crushed up soda crackers to thicken it. And that is all there is too it. This is our recipe we used at the Seneca County Fair for years. It makes it more creamy I guess and the soup does all the seasoning. You could probably use crackers in yours instead of flour. My chicken is shedded chicken in a can. It is about eight dollars a can for a tall large one. It use to be five. Any chicken meat would work. For just your meal probably a small regular can of cream of chicken soup would be enough. The crackers you can judge how many after it gets hot so it will stay in a bun. Love you.

     
    • Beth

      October 5, 2012 at 8:21 pm

      Thanks, Grandma!! That sounds super easy. 🙂 Love you too!

       

Leave a Reply

 
