RSS

CSA Week #17

05 Oct

This might be one of my favorite weeks! After all, potatoes are proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy, right? (What? That’s not how the saying goes? Hmm. Could have fooled me.) 

 

Besides those five wonderful potatoes (How do I decide what to do with them? French fries? Twice baked? Scalloped? I digress…), we received a bag of beets, three tomatoes, a cabbage and a striped acorn squash.

The cabbage is destined for a cabbage/bacon/noodle dish that we really enjoy. (It’s a recipe from my sister-in-law, and it’s definitely a keeper! Thanks, Kim!) I made a stuffed acorn squash with our last one, and I just might do that again. (Psst… did you know that you can microwave the squash in the first step of the recipe? Saves a TON of time!) Our meatless meal for next week will be bean and cheese quesadillas, so the tomatoes might wind up there. 

Since I’m indecisive, give me some suggestions for those spuds! Do I bake ’em? Roast ’em? Mash ’em? Help a girl out! (And while you’re at it, come join me at InHerChucks’ “What’s in the Box?” link party! I’m sure someone there has a good idea for spuds!) 

 
11 Comments

Posted by on October 5, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

11 responses to “CSA Week #17

  1. Andrea

    October 5, 2012 at 9:19 pm

    I actually grew my own potatoes this year…I was quite proud of myself. I used some of them for mashed potatoes and we just baked more this week. Both were quite delicious!

     
    • Beth

      October 6, 2012 at 7:20 am

      I’m impressed! We haven’t tried growing those on our own yet.

       
  2. Tammy

    October 5, 2012 at 11:12 pm

    My husband and boys love potatoes in hash browns in the morning.

     
    • Beth

      October 6, 2012 at 7:20 am

      Oooh… that does sound good!

       
  3. Tom

    October 6, 2012 at 8:50 am

    Stick’em in a stew

     
  4. inherchucks

    October 7, 2012 at 12:24 am

    Thanks for sharing your goodies and linking up! I prefer my potatoes mashed…http://inherchucks.com/2012/02/27/mashed-red-potatoes/. Because how can you resist bathing them in a ton of butter and cream?

    That cabbage dish sounds amazing! Will you be sharing the recipe?

    Hope you have a great rest of the weekend 🙂

     
    • Beth

      October 8, 2012 at 7:21 pm

      Oh, those potatoes sound amazing!!! And I’ll try to share the cabbage recipe soon!

       
      • inherchucks

        October 8, 2012 at 10:41 pm

        Great! Thanks Beth 🙂

         
  5. kirsten@FarmFreshFeasts

    October 9, 2012 at 1:51 pm

    Your produce looks very tasty. If I’m not mashing mine (saving myself for Thankgiving at this point) I like to fry potatoes. Here’s my post about it: http://www.farmfreshfeasts.com/2012/10/fried-potatoes-farm-fresh-feast-style.html I’d love to see the cabbage recipe-we love cabbage here. Thanks!

     
    • Beth

      October 9, 2012 at 7:39 pm

      Those potatoes look great! And I have all the ingredients on hand…

       

Leave a Reply

 
