RSS

Cabbage & Noodles

12 Oct

We have wonderful neighbors, who seem to to have the world’s greenest thumb (after my parents and grandparents, anyway). They often share things from their garden, which I really appreciate (especially since our   gardening skills leave a lot to be desired). A few years ago, they gave us what might known as the world’s biggest cabbage. As this was before Andy decided he like coleslaw, I was at a loss as to what to do with a head of cabbage bigger than a basketball.

With the cabbage staring at me from the kitchen table, I went straight to my computer and emailed my sister-in-law, Kim. (My logic: She’s married to Andy’s brother. If Dan likes her cabbage dish, odds are, Andy will too.) 

“HELP! I have a giant cabbage! What do I do?!”

She came through for me, and this has become our go-to solution for cabbage (along with a tangy, vinegar-based coleslaw that I serve with fish tacos, but that’s a post for another day…).

Cabbage & Noodles with Bacon

1 head of cabbage, chopped
1 pound of bacon*
1 large onion, chopped
2-3 large handfuls of egg noodles*
Black pepper

In a large skillet over medium-high heat, cook the bacon until crisp. Remove from the pan and drain on paper towels, then break into bite-sized pieces. (Warning: there’s a chance that you could end up snacking on the bacon bits while you’re finishing dinner. It’s been known to happen here.)

Meanwhile, bring a large pot of salted water to boil for the egg noodles. Add the noodles and cook until done. Drain the noodles and set aside.

Drain some of the bacon fat from the pan, reserving enough to cook the onions. Add the chopped onion to the pan and cook for about 1-2 minutes, or until the onions begin to soften. Add the cabbage to the skillet and cook until tender, stirring occasionally. When the cabbage is tender, add the egg noodles and bacon, mixing thoroughly. Season with pepper. Serve immediately.

*I use these amounts as guidelines, rather than strict rules that must be obeyed OR ELSE. Last time I made this, I used about three quarters of a head of cabbage, six slices of bacon (because that’s what I had on hand) and a couple handfuls of egg noodles. You can play with the amounts to get proportions that seem “right” to you. 

From my sister-in-law Kim

 
18 Comments

Posted by on October 12, 2012 in Main Dishes, Pasta

 

Tags: , , , ,

18 responses to “Cabbage & Noodles

  1. petriesan

    May 16, 2013 at 3:33 pm

    Ok, so this is worth a try. Without tasting, I declare it the second best recipe ever posted on wordpress; the first being the one I posted about the sandwich of the Gods, The Stub!

    http://petriesan.wordpress.com/2012/05/23/the-stub-arguably-the-best-sandwich-ever-devised-by-man-definately-not-by-woman/

     
    • Beth

      May 16, 2013 at 5:35 pm

      Thanks! That DOES look like a pretty good sandwich… even if you’d need to run a marathon to work it off!

       
  2. Emily

    July 11, 2013 at 8:39 am

    This looks great!! How many servings have you gotten from this recipe with these “guidelines”??

     
    • Beth

      July 12, 2013 at 6:15 am

      It usually feeds the two of us, generously, for dinner, with enough leftovers for at least two lunches. So I’d go with four servings, depending on how big a “serving” is for you!

       
  3. LARRY E. JEFFERS

    July 16, 2013 at 7:22 pm

    NEW TWIST ADD HILLSHIRE POLISH KIELBASA.YUM

     
    • Beth

      July 16, 2013 at 8:07 pm

      Good idea!

       
  4. Marie Czarnecki

    September 21, 2013 at 9:03 pm

    Good Polish Dinner!!! Great idea Larry Jeffers

     
    • Larry

      September 22, 2013 at 8:25 pm

      Thanks. Enjoy Larry and Sugar Jeffers

       
  5. Cindy Stevens

    November 16, 2013 at 1:27 pm

    I found this recipe on facebook under “Donna James” site. I sent her a message requesting she give Beth’s Blue Plate Special blog credit for this recipe as I believe it is your recipe. I’m not trying to cause trouble, but credit needs to go to you. Love your recipes!

     
    • Beth

      November 16, 2013 at 2:13 pm

      Aw, thanks! I appreciate it.

       

Leave a Reply

 
