RSS

CSA Week #18

16 Oct

At the risk of sounding like a broken record, this was the best week ever! Butternut squash, red potatoes AND cauliflower? Be still my beating heart.

There’s also an onion, beets, a bag of mixed greens and more green tomatoes. Talk about going out with a bang!

I think I’ll let the tomatoes ripen on the window sill, as we weren’t blown away by the fried green tomato BLT last week. (Unless someone has a better idea? Anybody?) The squash, well, I’ve talked about that. If I can bring myself to try something new, I’d like to make a risotto out of it. The cauliflower will probably get roasted, although the Thanksgiving issue of Everyday Food Magazine just arrived, and there’s a cauliflower/potato/cheddar bake in there that is just begging to be made. The onion is gone already (because I put onion in nearly everything…), and I’m considering sauteing the greens, since they look heftier than regular lettuce. The potato? Well, that issue of Everyday Food also had a red potato/sage/shallot recipe that looked amazing. (As did the stuffing, turkey and other side dishes. Can we have Thanksgiving dinner several times between now and the end of November?)

Up-close and personal with the cauliflower. You are destined for greatness, my tasty veggie.

We also received a large box of pears from Andy’s parents a couple weeks ago, and I am at a loss for what to do with them. I like a pear in a salad every now and then, but that’s about it. And there’s no way that Andy will eat all of them before they become a fruit fly paradise in my basement.(Seriously. He loves fruit, but he’d have to eat them 24/7 for the next month.) What should I do with these things? Pear tarts? Muffins? Bread? I tried pear sauce at one point, and was NOT a fan… help a girl out!

Oh, and I’m participating in the “What’s in the Box?” link party over at InHerChucks again! (At least for the last couple weeks of our CSA… I’m so sad that it’s coming to an end soon!) Check out all the great produce and recipes!

 
10 Comments

Posted by on October 16, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

10 responses to “CSA Week #18

  1. Tammy

    October 16, 2012 at 10:32 pm

    Not sure if it’s just the angle or if you got some really big veggies?

     
    • Beth

      October 17, 2012 at 6:09 am

      Might be a little bit of both… the cauliflower is enormous though – too big to fit in my crisper drawer.

       
  2. inherchucks

    October 17, 2012 at 1:38 am

    That butternut squash looks ginormous!

    Thanks for sharing and linking up 🙂

     
  3. kirsten@FarmFreshFeasts

    October 17, 2012 at 11:56 am

    Green tomatoes are my new love-try this chili! http://www.farmfreshfeasts.com/2012/10/slow-cooker-green-tomato-garlic-chili.html Your cauliflower looks wonderful to me, too!

     
    • Beth

      October 21, 2012 at 3:54 pm

      oooh, thanks! I’ll check it out!

       
  4. Lucy

    October 17, 2012 at 1:23 pm

    Nice load. Seriously love the fall produce. Plus- most of this stuff stores pretty well, too.

     
    • Beth

      October 21, 2012 at 3:54 pm

      That’s a definite bonus! No produce-induced panic here this time. 🙂

       
  5. Bethany

    October 19, 2012 at 7:14 pm

    Are pears freezeable? Could you soften them by boiling them and then freeze for fruit in the winter? I do not know…just a thought. 🙂

     
    • Beth

      October 21, 2012 at 3:54 pm

      Hmm, maybe! I’ll have to do some googling.

       

Leave a Reply

 
