RSS

Smoky Nuts

21 Oct

Sometimes, I think the ideal job is naming paint colors. You pick an adjective (let’s say… wistful) and a noun (skies), and bam! You have a paint color. (For the record, I think that “wistful skies” would be a blue-gray color.)  This is where you’re wondering what on earth naming paint colors has to do with food, right? Well, friends of ours selected a warm, rich brown color for some walls in their home. The name of the paint?

Toasted Nuts. Which was all I could think of while I made this recipe.

It’s easy, tasty and way too addicting. The recipe says it feed eight to 12 people. When I told Andy this, he immediately came back with, “Eight to 12 what? Babies?” Seeing as the two of nearly polished off the entire batch in about 30 minutes, I’m kind of inclined to agree with him. Either that, or it feeds eight to 12 people as part of an appetizer spread (which was probably what the magazine editors were envisioning…).

Smoky Nuts 

2 cups of almonds
1 teaspoon olive oil
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1 1/2 teaspoons smoked paprika

Preheat oven to 375. On a rimmed baking sheet, toss the almonds with the olive oil until well coated. Sprinkle with salt and paprika and toss until evenly coated.

Bake for 10 minutes or until toasted and fragrant. (I should have pulled mine from the oven about 2 minutes earlier.) Let cool before serving.

Store in an airtight container.

 

From Everyday Food Magazine, November 2012 (As of right now, the recipe wasn’t online – probably because my issue is only a week old.)

 
7 Comments

Posted by on October 21, 2012 in Appetizer

 

Tags: , , , , ,

7 responses to “Smoky Nuts

  1. kirsten@FarmFreshFeasts

    October 21, 2012 at 6:47 pm

    I dunno. To me Wistful Skies has a pinky-blue tinge to it, like the sunrise looked the other morning. Thanks for the recipe-lloks yummy!

     
    • Beth

      October 21, 2012 at 8:22 pm

      Oooh, I hadn’t thought about that color option. 🙂 I bet Behr’s got something along those lines.

       
  2. thestuffedflamingo

    October 22, 2012 at 8:11 am

    Looks yummy! Where do I get smoked paprika?

     
    • Beth

      October 22, 2012 at 5:06 pm

      At our favorite bulk food store, of course! 😉 I think it smells like paprika and bacon got together… mmm…

       
      • thestuffedflamingo

        October 23, 2012 at 1:45 pm

        oh, yum! I will check it out next time i go 🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
