RSS

Must. Have. Chocolate. Now.

27 Oct

I spend a lot of time browsing through recipes. Blogs, cookbooks, magazines, if it talks about food, I’m there. Usually, this ends with me starring the recipe in my Google Reader or mentally bookmarking it for a rainy day.

Not when it comes to brownies. I have no willpower when it comes to rich, fudgey, gooey, chocolaty, baked-in-a-pan goodness. So last Sunday, when I was scrolling through Erin’s blog and just happened to stumble upon these babies, there really was no question. I knew I’d be baking them, stat. I mean, sure, I asked Andy if he had a preference for our Sunday afternoon snack, but really, my mind was made up. Brownies, here we come.

These just might be my new favorite brownie. They were moist, and Erin’s right – they’re the perfect balance between cakey and fudgey. (And this is coming from someone who prefers her brownies to be almost fudge-like.) The pinch of sea salt on top just takes them to another level of awesomeness. And best of all, they’re incredibly easy to whip up – we’re talking maybe 15 minutes to mix things up, plus baking time, which seems almost torturous, since you’re smelling chocolaty goodness the entire time. (After all, the waiting is the hardest part, right?) 

This is where I apologize for a sub-par picture. You’re actually lucky I was able to get these documented at all, as they disappeared in an embarrassingly short amount of time. Whoops.

Dark Chocolate Brownies

1 stick of butter
1 heaping cup of sugar
2 eggs
scant 3/4 dark cocoa powder (I used Hershey’s Special Dark.)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 tablespoon vanilla
2 ounces dark chocolate, chopped* (I used dark chocolate chips and weighed them out, only to realize that Erin said to use about a cup of chips, if going that route. So I threw in a handful or two extra before they went in the oven.)
3/4 cup flour
pinch fleur de sel

Preheat oven to 350. Butter an 8″ square baking pan and set aside.

In a small saucepan over medium-low heat, melt the butter. When the butter is melted, remove from heat and stir in the sugar. Place the saucepan back on low heat and cook for a few more minutes, to help dissolve the sugar. (Don’t let it boil!) 

Meanwhile, in a mixing bowl, whisk together the eggs, cocoa powder, salt, baking powder and vanilla. Stir in the butter/sugar mixture until smooth. Stir in the flour and chocolate until just combined.

Spread batter in prepared pan and sprinkle with a pinch of fleur de sel. Bake until set and just a few crumbs remain when tested with a toothpick, about 25-30 minutes. (Mine took closer to the 30-minute mark.) 

Remove from oven and let cool before slicing. (Good luck with this step. Andy was convinced we should cut into them right away. Luckily, I was able to distract him with some roasted nuts until the brownies had cooled most of the way.) 

From Erin’s Food Files, as seen on the Craving Chronicles, originally from King Arthur Flour

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 27, 2012 in Dessert

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Must. Have. Chocolate. Now.

Leave a Reply

 
