RSS

CSA Week #20

31 Oct

All good things must come to an end, they say, and apparently they’re right because last week was our last week of CSA goodness for the year. Boooo…. 😦 All in all, we’ve really enjoyed it. It’s pushed me outside of my comfort zone some weeks and introduced us to some new veggies.

We did go out with a bang though!  Here’s a look at our goodies from week 20.

There was a beautiful bag of mixed greens (those disappeared the next evening for dinner), a kohlrabi, a head of cabbage, four beets, five potatoes,  a spaghetti squash, an acorn squash, and an orange squash that I’ve never seen before.

Anybody know what it is? It kind of looks like a pumpkin, but the bottom is all wrong for that. It’s about the size of the acorn squash, although not nearly as “ribbed.” If Google is to be trusted, I would guess “ambercup squash.” Maybe.

The beets are destined for beet chips, I think, and we’ll probably roast the kohlrabi again. I’m on the fence with the cabbage, though. Now that it’s soup season, I think this looks good. I’m just concerned that cabbage will get slimy in soup and have an unappetizing texture. Thoughts? Anyone? I am so thankful that winter squash keeps so well! I’m stashing these in the basement and pulling them out for squashy-goodness over the next few weeks.

Oh, and remember the giant cauliflower from a few weeks ago? I thought I remembered reading something about being able to eat the cauliflower leaves, so I had stashed them in a produce bag in the fridge. After a few minutes of Googling, I decided to prepare the leaves kale-chip-style. They were excellent, with a similar flavor and texture to the kale chips, so perhaps cauliflower leaves have similar nutritional qualities? 🙂

And there you have it! 20 weeks of local fruits and veggies, courtesy of Olden Produce. Good stuff, I tell you. I’m already looking forward to next year. 🙂

Want more veggie goodness? (Of course you do…) Check out the “What’s in the Box?” link party over at InHerChucks!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on October 31, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “CSA Week #20

  1. Lucy

    October 31, 2012 at 8:25 pm

    Yes I’m also bummed about the CSA season being over but I am already looking forward to next year. I look forward to reading your other blog posts until then.

     
  2. inherchucks

    October 31, 2012 at 11:12 pm

    nice haul! We sure are going to miss having you at the party 🙂 Happy Halloween!

     
    • Beth

      November 2, 2012 at 6:14 am

      thanks!

       
  3. kirsten@FarmFreshFeasts

    November 1, 2012 at 8:01 am

    Thanks for the beet chips recipe! Between Clean Eats Fast Feets beet smoothie, my own Thanksgiving leftover transformation beet salad, and now this I think I’m set for the bag of beets I got in this week’s share. My kids love simply sautéed cabbage (little salt, little butter). I was hoping to get kohlrabi so I could make sushi, but perhaps next week. I’m always sad when the CSA ends, but I’ve gotten pretty good about putting stuff up so we do eat farm share produce year round. This year the farm share is working on having biweekly winter deliveries, so something to look forward to!

     
    • Beth

      November 3, 2012 at 3:09 pm

      How do you make sushi with kohlrabi?? Sounds intriguing…

      I feel like I should update on the beet chips – this time, I used the slicer attachment for the KA mixer, and I was able to get the chips super thin. They crisped up much better and didn’t take nearly as long to cook! A winter share sounds like a great thing – I’m a little jealous. 🙂

       
  4. adelewayah

    November 1, 2012 at 10:25 am

    The orange squash looks like a Kobocha squash, they come in orange and green outsides but are usually a deep orange on the inside. I use them like butternut squash.

     
    • Beth

      November 2, 2012 at 6:13 am

      Oh, thanks! I can’t wait to see what it’s like when I cut into it.

       

Leave a Reply

 
