RSS

Turkey Time!

03 Nov

Why, hello, November. Seems like you’ve arrived much quicker than last year… maybe that’s because I was having so much fun with my summer produce that I didn’t notice the months flying by. But since you’re here, you might as well make yourself at home. After all, we have exciting things planned this month. Things like THE GAME (watching with some of my favorite people and, of course, excellent snacks), Thanksgiving (I’m making my first pumpkin roll this year!), and participating my first-ever, food blogger cookie exchange!

Yes, you read that right. Three lucky individuals are going to received goodies straight from my kitchen! I’m pretty excited about it, as you could probably guess. I spent some time wandering through Michael’s, looking at different packaging options, and I have been brainstorming cookie ideas already! I’ve already warned Andy that he’s not to open my cookie packages when they arrive – he’ll just have to wait until I get home from work to see what goodness is inside!

But anyway, we’re not here to talk about cookies, at least, not today. Maybe sometime next week. Today, I have the solution to your extra-Halloween candy problems. And if you don’t have a stash of Halloween candy to use up, then get yourself to the store. (I’m pretty sure they’re selling candy corn until Thanksgiving.) 

Look at how cute! They’re the perfect addition to a Thanksgiving table. 🙂 And yes, my turkeys were blind. It was late; I was tired; there weren’t any appropriate sprinkles in my kitchen… you get the idea. Still cute though. 🙂

Tom Turkeys

12 ounces semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 (11-ounce) package candy corn
52 fudge stripe cookies (I bought mine, but you could get ambitious and make them with Annie’s recipe.)
4 cups mini marshmallows
1/4 cup butter
6 cups Rice Krispies cereal (feel free to go off-brand!)

Heat oven to 170 degrees. While the oven is heating, place the chocolate chips in an oven-proof bowl, then place the bowl in the oven to melt the chips. Check the chips every 5-10 minutes, stirring until melted. Remove melted chips from oven.*

Prepare the tails: Using a spoon, spread melted chocolate on the top half of the back of a cookie. Lay the candy corn in a fan shape on the cookie and press into the chocolate. Let the chocolate harden (the fridge is a great help in speeding up this process!) Repeat with 25 more cookies.

In a large saucepan, melt the butter over medium heat. Stir in the marshmallows and stir until melted. Stir in the cereal. Allow mixture to cool for a few minutes (but not too long – you have to form it into balls). With greased hands, shape the cereal mixture into balls about 1-1/2″ in diameter.

Remelt the chocolate, if necessary. Dip the bottom of the cereal ball into the chocolate and position it on an upside-down cookie. Using chocolate as “glue,” attach the tails to the back of each ball, at a 90 degree angle from the base. Let chocolate cool and harden.

Use chocolate to attach one candy corn piece to the front of the top of the ball – this serves as the turkey’s “head.” Let everything set/harden, then store in an airtight container. Makes 26 turkeys.

*This is my preferred method of melting chocolate. I have problems with a double boiler AND with the microwave. Thankfully, a friend gave me this tip, so no more seized, unusable chocolate! If you’re more talented than I am not afraid of the microwave or the double boiler, by all means, go that route.  

From Taste of Home

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 3, 2012 in Candy, Dessert

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Turkey Time!

  1. kirsten@FarmFreshFeasts

    November 3, 2012 at 6:20 pm

    How cute! Thanks for this recipe!

     
    • Beth

      November 3, 2012 at 6:52 pm

      You’re welcome! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
