RSS

Butternut Squash Ravioli

20 Nov

Ever get an idea stuck in your head? You know, one that won’t go away until you at least attempt it? Welcome to one of those days in my world! It all started when Annie posted this super tasty-looking recipe for beet ravioli. Since I had used up all of my beets just a few days before (and since I don’t own pasta rollers…), I sighed, mentally bookmarked the recipe and went about my day.

Except… all I could think about was filled pasta. Tasty little pockets of pasta, brimming with savory goodness. Hmm.

Then, out of the blue, it hit me! Butternut squash ravioli! I have lots of squash at home! I can do this! (Keep in mind, I’d never had butternut squash ravioli before. And I still didn’t have a pasta roller. AND, my one and only prior attempt at making homemade pasta had been, well, less than stellar. No matter. I was going to make squash ravioli, I just knew it.) The weekend couldn’t come soon enough.

After spending some quality time with Google, I had decided two things: One, I would serve this with a brown butter sauce (never mind that I hadn’t made that before either), and two, I wasn’t going to mess with making the pasta this time. I’d focus on getting the filling right before I tried to roll out pasta dough by hand. I bought some wonton wrappers, put my Pandora stations on shuffle, and got to work.

To make the puree, I used the smallest butternut squash I had on hand, roasting the peeled squash cubes with some olive oil, salt, pepper, garlic cloves and rosemary sprigs. It smelled so good after roasting that I had to sample a few chunks (quality control, you know) before I pureed it.

Assembling the ravioli went fairly well, and cooking it was a breeze. My biggest mistake was to put the cooked ravioli in a large bowl while I finished the sauce. Turns out that cooked wonton wrappers immediately adhere to each other, which made serving them a little difficult. Thankfully, Andy’s not worried about appearances, as long as it tastes good. 🙂

And taste good, it did. Holy yum. Even though I had sampled the filling, I was amazed at how good this dinner was. The combination of the squash with the brown butter… wow. Mind-blowing, I tell you.

And I still have wonton wrappers in the fridge… hmm. Guess I’ll have to make ravioli again!

Butternut Squash Ravioli with Brown Butter and Spinach

1 cup roasted butternut squash puree
5 tablespoons chopped shallots, divided
5 tablespoons unsalted butter, divided
Salt and pepper
3 tableaspoons heavy cream
3 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese
pinch of nutmeg
wonton wrappers
1 teaspoons lemon juice
pinch of sage
handful fresh spinach, chopped

In a large pan, melt one tablespoon of butter over medium heat. Add three tablespoons of shallots and saute for about a minute. Stir in the squash puree and cook until the mixture is slightly dry, about three minutes more. Remove from heat and stir in the cream, Parmesan cheese and nutmeg. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Set mixture aside to cool.

When the squash mixture has cooled, place one teaspoon of filling in the center of a wonton wrapper. Dip your finger in water and moisten the edges of the wrapper, then fold the wrapper over on itself, pressing to seal the edges. Place the filled wonton on a baking tray, and continue filling and sealing the wrappers until all of the squash filling is gone. Try not to stack the filled ravioli, as any moisture will cause the wonton wrappers to stick together.

To cook the ravioli, bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Place three to four ravioli in the pot (depending on the size of your pot) and cook until the ravioli float to the top, about two to three minutes. Remove the cooked ravioli with a slotted spoon and continue cooking the rest in batches.

To make the brown butter sauce, melt four tablespoons of butter in a saucepan. Add the remaining shallots and sage and cook until the butter starts to brown. (I was paranoid about burning the butter here, but it all worked out OK!) Remove the pan from the heat and add the lemon juice. Toss the chopped spinach leaves with the sauce and stir until they wilt down.

Pour the sauce and spinach over the cooked ravioli and serve immediately.

Filling adapted from The Food Network
Sauce adapted from Serious Eats
Wonton tips from AllRecipes.com

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 20, 2012 in Main Dishes, Pasta, Side Dishes

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Butternut Squash Ravioli

  1. kirsten@FarmFreshFeasts

    November 21, 2012 at 10:57 am

    Looks just delicious and the farm share has provided almost all the ingredients I’ll need (note to self, hit the market for the wontons as there’s no way I’m attempting making pasta without tools either!

    Thanks!

     

Leave a Reply

 
