RSS

Nutter Butter Love

01 Dec

If you know me, you know that store-bought cookies aren’t really my thing. That’s not to say that I won’t snag one from the kitchen at work, or use them to make Oreo truffles or turkeys, but you’re not going to find me going up and down the cookie aisle, tossing packages into my cart.

At least, not until Christmas time comes around. Then, I go on a hunt for Nutter Butters. Why, you ask? Because one of Andy’s most-requested Christmas cookies is a Nutter Butter Santa. (And if we’re going to get technical, he would actually prefer Nutter Butter snowmen, simply because they have more white chocolate.) 

I have mixed feelings about how “easy” these guys are. On one hand, they’re no-bake cookies, so you never have to turn on the oven (unless you’re like me and can’t melt white chocolate any other way). On the other hand though, they can be a little time-consuming and messy. (Melted white chocolate everywhere? Check. Red sprinkles all over the kitchen? Check. Red hots scattered across the counter? Mini chocolate chips going on cross-eyed? Check and double check.) In spite of this, these are always on my Christmas goodie list.

This is one of the few times I practice mise en place!

Hundreds of white chocolate chips, ready to go!

AHH! My eyes! I can’t see!!! (Haha….)

Nutter Butter Santas

1 package Nutter Butter cookies
12 ounces white chocolate, chopped
Red sanding sugar
White baking chips
Mini chocolate chips
Red-hot candies

Preheat the oven to its lowest setting, and place the white chocolate in an oven-proof bowl. Place the bowl in the oven to melt the chocolate, stirring every few minutes until smooth and melted. (Alternately, you can melt the chocolate in the microwave, stirring every 20 seconds or so.) 

Dip each end of the Nutter Butter cookies into the white chocolate, shaking off the excess. Dip the top end of the cookie into the red sanding sugar, covering the white chocolate completely. Place Nutter Butter on a wire rack set over a baking sheet and press a white baking chip onto the lower corner of the red sprinkles. (This is the pom-pom of Santa’s “hat.”) Place the Nutter Butter on a wire rack set over a baking sheet and allow the chocolate to set.

Using the remaining melted white chocolate as glue, place two mini chocolate chips on the front of the cookie for eyes, and place one red-hot candy for a nose, right above the start of Santa’s beard. Return cookie to the wire rack and allow everything to harden.

Store in an air-tight container.

From Taste of Home

In other cookie news, I’ve received two of my boxes from the Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap! It’s SO much fun. I wasn’t feeling the whole Christmas thing at all, until my first box came. Now I’ve added some Christmas stations to my Pandora account, and I’m ready to decorate the tree! Woohoo! My boxes are just about ready to ship out as well… can’t wait to send them on their way across the country! 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 1, 2012 in Candy, Dessert, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Nutter Butter Love

Leave a Reply

 
