RSS

Muffins to the Rescue!

03 Dec

Sometimes, I feel like I’m caught in a mad race against time with my produce. The lettuce is wilting in the fridge!  The peaches are seconds away from dissolving into a syrupy mess on the counter! The cilantro has turned black! NOW. IS. THE. TIME. TO. PANIC. AHHHH!!! (Over-dramatic? Who, me? Never.) 

These muffins were made in one of those produce-induced panics. The apples were moments away from turning into applesauce in the fruit bowl, so it was either bake or send them to the trash can. I do my best to avoid pitching food, so “to bake” it was. This happened a few days before Thanksgiving, and since Thanksgiving means a road trip for us, I decided that muffins would be a good solution to my apple problems. After all, muffins are portable and individually packaged – perfect road food, right?

Karen suggested her apple muffins, and while I know they would have been good (and MUCH healthier than these!), I didn’t have several of the ingredients. So, to AllRecipes.com I went, and came up with this recipe. It came together quickly (a plus, as I had about 15 other things on my to-do list that night) and featured pantry staples. As I mixed up the batter, I noticed that the recipe didn’t have any spices in it – what kind of “apple pie” is this? I added cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice and cloves. I also left off the crumb topping – mostly because I felt like the muffins were already sweet enough. Surprisingly enough, we didn’t miss it at all. (Guess that goes to show that you can’t miss what you don’t know!) 

http://images3a.snapfish.com/232323232%7Ffp734%3A4%3Enu%3D326%3B%3E498%3E257%3EWSNRCG%3D386669769%3B32%3Cnu0mrj

They may not be the flashiest muffins, but they sure did hit the spot halfway through our road trip!

Apple Pie Muffins

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon allspice
pinch of cloves
1 egg
1 cup buttermilk (I subbed milk with lemon juice this time.) 
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups packed brown sugar
2 cups diced apples

Preheat oven to 375. Line muffin tins with paper liners. (I ended up with 20 muffins, but I think the original recipe had me overfill the tins. You might be able to get 24 muffins out of this.)

In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients. Meanwhile, in another bowl, combine the butter and brown sugar and stir until the sugar dissolves. Stir the egg, buttermilk and vanilla into the sugar mixture.

Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients, and pour the wet ingredients and the apple chunks into the well. Gently fold the wet ingredients and the apples into the flour mixture, being careful not to over-mix.

Fill the muffin wells two-thirds of the way full. Bake until muffins test done with a toothpick, about 25 minutes. Let cool in pans 10 minutes, then turn out on to a wire rack to cool completely.

Adapted from AllRecipes.com

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 3, 2012 in Breads, Muffins & Rolls

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Muffins to the Rescue!

  1. kirsten@FarmFreshFeasts

    December 4, 2012 at 6:06 am

    I know what you mean about produce going bad! That is why my apples live in the crisper–the garlic and potatoes in the fruit bowl on the counter don’t deteriorate that quick!

    I have pears that need to be dealt with. Looking forward to that!

     

Leave a Reply

 
