RSS

Sweet & Spicy Spuds

16 Dec

OK, here’s your chance for something not sweet and calorie-laden. (What can I say? It’s Christmas time, and I have been doing a lot of baking. ‘Tis the season, you know.) So, make yourself a salad and roast some of these up. You know, so you don’t have to feel guilty about that second (or third or fourth… I won’t judge) Christmas cookie. 🙂

These guys are my favorite way to make sweet potatoes. They’re quick, easy, and tasty. What more do you need? And they give me another use for the jar of Old Bay in my cupboard.

OldBaySP

We enjoyed these with our grilled burgers last week. Talk about an excellent Friday night dinner!

Old Bay Roasted Sweet Potatoes

2-3 medium sweet potatoes, scrubbed
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 1/2 teaspoons Old Bay seasoning

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. If desired, peel sweet potatoes. (I peeled mine this time, as these were some of the sweet potatoes from our late season CSA share, and they had some nooks and crannies that needed to be removed.) Dice potatoes into chunks about half an inch in diameter. (Size isn’t as important as having all of the pieces roughly the same size so they cook evenly.) 

In a medium bowl, toss the potato chunks with the olive oil. When the potatoes are coated, sprinkle with Old Bay seasoning and toss to coat.

Spread the potatoes on a rimmed baking sheet. Roast for until cooked through and golden, roughly 20 minutes, stirring once. Serve warm.

From Everyday Food Magazine, January 2010

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 16, 2012 in Side Dishes

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Sweet & Spicy Spuds

  1. kirsten@FarmFreshFeasts

    December 17, 2012 at 5:12 pm

    What a great idea to use Old Bay on sweet potatoes! I’m totally doing this, especially since I live too far from lively crabs 😦 . I thought I was reduced to getting my Old Bay fix when I went home to visit or on popcorn, but not any more . . .

    Thanks!

     
    • Beth

      December 17, 2012 at 6:24 pm

      I never would have thought to do it either! That same issue of Everyday Food has a chex mix recipe that uses it too!

       

Leave a Reply

 
