RSS

This One’s For the Girls

19 Jan

Every winter, Andy takes a trip with his buddies. They drive north for a couple of hours, hike into a campsite, set up tents and spend the weekend in the cold. I am never invited, and I am 100% OK with that. As much as I love camping, I have no desire to sleep in a tent (or pee in the woods) during January. Especially January in Wisconsin. Call me when the days are sunny and mild, the nights are cool (but not cold), and I don’t need to pack long underwear. Until then… you can keep your man trip. ūüėČ

So, what’s a girl to do while her husband’s out sleeping in the woods? Get together with her girlfriends, of course! And since my friends love food just as much as I do, our evenings always involve lots of goodness. This year, our “girls night” food included:

  • Chips and guac
  • Fresh bread and garlic dipping oil
  • Hummus and chips
  • Brownie cobbler
  • Pumpkin spice latte ice cream (my contribution to the feast!)

I decided to make this particular flavor because Andy’s not a pumpkin fan, and neither is Karen’s husband. This would keep the boys’ disappointment to a minimum, I thought. (This is where I was wrong, at least as far as Andy’s concerned. While he doesn’t love pumpkin or coffee, he definitely enjoyed the ice cream he sampled. Oh well. It’s not like I sent him to the woods without cookies and steak!)

I was a little skeptical when I stirred the pumpkin into the coffee-flavored base. The pumpkin flavor was overwhelming! There wasn’t anything I could do about it though, so I put it in the fridge to chill overnight. Thankfully, everything mellowed and the flavors came together perfectly by the time I churned the ice cream. What we had was a smooth, creamy treat with just the right amount of pumpkin flavor mingled with the coffee ice cream. Yum.

PumpkinSpiceIceCream

Pumpkin Spice Latte Ice Cream

2 cups heavy cream
1 cup whole milk (I did the half and half plus some skim milk combo… how many people actually keep whole milk on hand?!)
3/4 cup sugar, divided
1 1/4 teaspoons cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
dash of ground cloves
1 cup whole coffee beans (Since I don’t drink coffee often, I had no idea what beans to buy. I just picked some off the store shelves – and they happened to be on sale! If you have a favorite roast/flavor/brand of beans, use them.)¬†
4 large egg yolks
1 1/2 tablespoons¬†espresso¬†powder (I have yet to find this in my store – probably because I don’t drink coffee much – so I subbed instant coffee powder.)¬†
1 cup pumpkin puree

In a medium saucepan, stir together the cream, milk, 1/2 cup of sugar and the spices. Heat over medium heat, stirring until the sugar dissolves. When the mixture has warmed through, add the coffee beans and bring the mixture to a simmer. (This is where you pay attention, otherwise you’ll discover the pot at a rolling boil with creamy coffee beans about to go everywhere. Thankfully, the crisis was averted. Missed it by that much!) Remove the pan from the heat, cover and let sit for one hour.

In a medium bowl (I used one of my large Pyrex measuring cups with a pour spout!), whisk together the egg yolks and 1/4 cup sugar until well blended.

Rewarm the coffee/cream mixture on the stove. When the mixture is warmed through (but not too hot), temper the egg yolks by stirring a little of the warm cream into them. Continue to add cream, whisking constantly. When the mixtures have been thoroughly combined, return them to the saucepan and reheat over medium heat, stirring constantly. When the mixture thickens and coats the back of a spoon, remove from heat.

Place a fine mesh strainer over a large bowl, and pour the custard through the strainer. Press on the coffee beans to extract as much of the flavor as possible. Discard the beans when finished.

Stir the pumpkin puree and espresso powder into the custard. Mix until powder dissolves. Cover the bowl and place in the refrigerator until chilled through, at least a couple of hours.

Freeze the chilled mixture according to your ice cream maker’s instructions.

From¬†My Kitchen Addition, as seen on¬†Annie’s Eats, via¬†Cook Like a Champion

Click HERE for a printable version!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 19, 2013 in Ice Cream

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “This One’s For the Girls

  1. lacey

    January 19, 2013 at 8:17 pm

    I can taste the deliciousness all over again…..

     
    • Beth

      January 19, 2013 at 8:29 pm

      Believe it or not, there’s still a little left in our freezer… so if you came over, you COULD taste it again… ūüėČ

       

Leave a Reply

 
