RSS

Broccoli Cheddar Soup

27 Jan

I pack 10 lunches each week (five for me, five for Andy). We usually take leftovers with some yogurt and fruit, or a PB&J sandwich with yogurt and fruit. It’s very rare for either of us to go out for lunch, and that’s OK with me. Brown-bagging it saves us a few dollars and a couple of calories. (Or so I tell myself… some days I’m not sure our leftovers fit into the “light” category – I’m looking at you, spinoccoli pizza!)

On the rare days that we do eat out for lunch, I am likely to pick one of two places, Chipotle or Panera Bread, and I almost always know exactly what I’m getting. At Panera, it’s broccoli cheddar soup. In a bread bowl. And sure, give me a baguette on the side. More carbs please. And nine times out of 10, I eat it all. Because I have no self-control. 🙂 (Curious about my other “usual”? Carnitas fajita burrito bowl, with white rice and black beans, topped with corn salsa, hot red salsa, lettuce, cheese and sour cream. I’d add guac, but it’s almost $2 a serving. I can buy two avocados for that price!)

I like the soup too much to limit myself to only enjoying it at Panera though. I’ve made it before, and while it was all right, I wanted to give a different recipe a shot. This one was pretty tasty – so much so that I made sure that these leftovers went into my lunch. (What?! Andy took leftover pot roast that day, so he wasn’t TOO deprived…) 

BroccoliCheddarSoup

Broccoli Cheddar Soup

1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil (I’m guestimating this amount; I just swirled some into the bottom of the pan.) 
4 tablespoons butter
1 medium onion, diced
3 medium carrots, finely diced
4 cups chopped broccoli (I used mostly florets, but I did throw a few of the stem pieces in.) 
3 cups chicken or veggie stock
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
4 tablespoons flour
2 cups milk (I used a combination of half and half and skim… it’s what I had on hand.) 
2 cups freshly shredded cheddar cheese
pinch of red pepper flakes
salt and pepper to taste

In a large stock pot, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Stir in the onion and carrots and saute until tender, about 5 to 7 minutes. Stir in the broccoli and then add the stock and garlic powder. Bring to a simmer and cook until the broccoli is tender.

Meanwhile, in another pot, melt the butter over medium heat. Stir in the flour and cook, stirring constantly, until it is golden in color. Whisk in the milk and continue to whisk the mixture until it thickens. Remove from heat and whisk in the cheddar cheese. When the cheese has melted into the sauce, pour the sauce into the stock pot with the broccoli.

If desired, puree the soup with an immersion blender until desired consistency is reached. Add the red pepper flakes and season to taste with salt and pepper. Serve warm (bonus points if you dish this one out in a bread bowl).

Adapted from Annie’s Eats

Click HERE for a printable version!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 27, 2013 in Soups & Stews

 

Tags: , , , ,

8 responses to “Broccoli Cheddar Soup

  1. kirsten@FarmFreshFeasts

    January 28, 2013 at 11:48 am

    Yum, that looks delicious. My favorite Panera soup is the French onion, and I sure love the bread bowl, too. I get an apple on the side, but really I want chips. Generally the apple ends up going home in my bag and sliced up for a snack (cores to the composting pigs).

     
    • Beth

      January 28, 2013 at 5:59 pm

      oooh, french onion. I’ve never tried Panera’s (probably because I always pick broccoli cheddar!), but that sounds tasty.

       
  2. themondaybox

    January 29, 2013 at 4:34 pm

    Three out of the four people in my family would say Broccoli Cheddar is their favorite soup. (My husband is alone with his tomato soup.) This recipe looks soooo good. When I pinned you photo onto a pinterest soup board, I was not surprised when it got a whole bunch of repins! Thank you for the recipe.

     
    • Beth

      January 29, 2013 at 8:51 pm

      You’re welcome!! I hope you all enjoy it! 🙂

       
  3. Melissa Yellig

    February 11, 2013 at 2:25 pm

    Bread bowls are cooling on the counter! Bonus!
    Jake saw me looking at this page and said, “Oh yeah, make that!”

     
    • Beth

      February 11, 2013 at 10:39 pm

      ooh, bread bowls! I’ve actually never made my own… do you have a go-to recipe you’d care to share? 🙂

       
  4. Melissa Yellig

    June 16, 2013 at 8:52 pm

    Sorry, just saw this! Yes! 3c flour, .5 tsp dry yeast, 1.75tsp salt. Mix in bowl and add 1.5c warm water. Mix into dough with fork. Cover with Saran and let sit for 12-18 hours. When ready to cook, preheat oven to 450. Then put an oven safe pot (the diameter of the bread bowl you want–mine are about 8 inches) and lid in the oven to preheat. Dump dough onto floured counter and divide in two lumps. Cover lightly with Saran and let sit for 30 min while your pot heats up. Carefully remove hot pot and dump one dough lump in the pot. Cook covered fr 30 min then remove lid and bake for another 15min. When done, cool loaf on rack and repeat process for second loaf. Makes a crusty loaf that is all craggy and soft on th inside so it soaks up all the soup! Don’t worry about greasing the pot. It is too hot for the dough to stick. Enjoy!

     

Leave a Reply

 
