RSS

Shrimp & Squash

13 Feb

We interrupt your regularly scheduled stream of bread, cookies, cakes and other desserts to bring you my go-to recipe for spaghetti squash. Yes, here in the middle of a sugar-and-carb fest here on the blog, we have proof that we actually eat something healthy once in a while. (I promise, Mom, we are eating our veggies. I’m just not taking pictures of our veggies right now. Wait till our CSA starts again.) 

I found this recipe more out of necessity than anything else. We received a spaghetti squash (either in our CSA or from our neighbors; I can’t remember which), and I was at a loss for what to do with it. In spite of its name, I was pretty sure I didn’t want to use it as a substitute for pasta. I mean, that’s just setting us up for failure. Expecting a squash to taste like white pasta? Please. Let’s call a spade a spade, shall we, and just embrace spaghetti squash for what it is.

Thankfully, Everyday Food came through for me, and this recipe has become my favorite way to prepare spaghetti squash. In spite of the long roasting time, this is one of my “busy night” dinners. I slice the squash (OK, I get Andy to do that. Last time I tried, I got the knife stuck in the squash.) and leave it in the oven with the “time bake” feature set to begin about an hour before I get home from work. And since shrimp both defrost and cook quickly, all I have left to do is roast the shrimp and shred the squash. Bam! Dinner’s ready in under 20 minutes. How’s that for time management?

SpaghettiSquashwShrimp

Roasted Spaghetti Squash with Shrimp

1 large spaghetti squash, halved
2-3 cloves of garlic
zest of 1/2 a lemon
1/2 pound large shrimp, peeled and deveined (The original recipe calls for an entire pound of shrimp, which always seems like a lot to me, so I use half the amount of shrimp. I simply cut the cooked shrimp into chunks, which then makes it go twice as far!)
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 tablespoon and 1 teaspoon olive oil, divided
fresh parsley, chopped (I’ll be the first to admit that I sub dried parsley if I don’t have the fresh stuff on hand.)
Salt & freshly ground pepper to taste
lemon wedges, for serving

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Scoop the seeds from the squash. Season the squash halves with salt and pepper, then place cut side down in a 9″ x 13″ baking pan. Tuck a garlic clove underneath each squash half. Pour 3/4 cup water in the pan. Place squash in the oven and roast until fork tender, about 45-50 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool while you prepare the shrimp. Leave the oven on.

Toss the shrimp with one tablespoon olive oil, one crushed garlic clove and lemon zest. Season with salt and pepper. Bake until firm and opaque, about 8 minutes. Remove from oven.

While shrimp is baking, use two forks to shred the squash into thin “spaghetti-like” strands. Shred the squash in a large mixing bowl and toss with lemon juice and remaining olive oil.

Chop the cooked shrimp into halves, then toss cooked shrimp and any pan juices with the squash. Stir in the chopped parsley. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Serve immediately with lemon wedges.

From Everyday Food Magazine, December 2009

Click here for a printable version!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 13, 2013 in Main Dishes, Seafood

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Shrimp & Squash

  1. kirsten@FarmFreshFeasts

    February 14, 2013 at 5:39 am

    Beth,
    How completely clever of you–from the timed bake function (can I admit I’m afraid to use it and come home to a giant pit where my house used to be?) to halving the amount of shrimp?
    Well done.

     
    • Beth

      February 14, 2013 at 7:01 am

      Well, it helps that Andy gets home about an hour before I do, so the oven is only on for about 20 minutes before someone’s there to babysit it. But I always do wonder if this time will be the time it all blows up! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
