RSS

Cornbread, Non-Jiffy Style

17 Feb

I remember being slightly disappointed the first time I tried cornbread as a kid. It wasn’t a terrible experience by any means, but it wasn’t outstanding. I seem to remember it being dry and relatively flavorless. As a result, I never went out of my way to find cornbread. If it was served with chili at someone’s house, I might take a piece, but I’d be just as likely to save the calories for dessert (or extra cheese and sour cream in my chili). 🙂

Well, for some unknown reason, I decided that I wanted to make cornbread to go with a batch of chili earlier this year. Where that urge came from, I have no idea. (Perhaps this is what happens when I peruse starred items in my Google reader…) Since almost everything is better with onions and cheese, I figured Branny’s recipe was a good place to start. I detoured through the grocery store on my way home (hello impulse cooking!), snagged some scallions and got cooking.

And… success! This came together quickly and smelled great when it was in the oven. I liked it so much that I took the leftovers to work even after I ran out of leftover chili to go with the cornbread.

CheddarScallionCornbread

Cheddar Scallion Cornbread

1 1/4 cup cornmeal (I used fine ground, since that’s what I have on hand.) 
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
4 ounces extra-sharp cheddar cheese, grated
3 scallions, thinly sliced (white and green parts)
1 cup sour cream (I used reduced-fat sour cream with no problems.) 
1/3 cup water
2 large eggs
3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

Preheat the oven to 425. Grease a 9″ round pan; set pan aside. (I used a cake pan the first time. Since then, I received a cast-iron skillet, and I’ve used that for cornbread. I think I just like the look of serving from the cast iron pan instead.) 

In a large mixing bowl, whisk the cornmeal, flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and baking soda together. Fold the cheese and scallions into the dry ingredients.

In a separate bowl, stir together the sour cream, water, butter and eggs. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and gently mix until just combined.

Spread the batter in the prepared pan, and bake until the top is golden brown and the cornbread tests done with a toothpick (roughly 20 minutes). Remove from oven and let cool about 5 minutes before serving. Cut into wedges and serve with your favorite chili.

From Branny Boils Over

Click HERE for a printable version!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 17, 2013 in Breads, Muffins & Rolls

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “Cornbread, Non-Jiffy Style

  1. kirsten@FarmFreshFeasts

    February 17, 2013 at 4:27 pm

    Beth,
    I love cornbread too!
    I even did the math to figure out how to make a batch in my “2 egg” skillet, since that’s the perfect amount for our family.
    If you like using a cast iron skillet, stick the greased skillet in the oven when you’re preheating the oven, and the bottom of the cornbread forms a delightful crust (like the bottom of a Pizza Hut pan pizza).
    Thanks for a new cornbread recipe!

     
    • Beth

      February 17, 2013 at 5:02 pm

      Oooh, I love that idea! I’ll try that next time! 🙂 Thanks!

       
  2. themondaybox

    February 17, 2013 at 8:46 pm

    This is just the kind of cornbread I love; savory with cheese and scallions. My husband is more the sweet cornbread type,but that’s just an excuse to eat cake with dinner 🙂 I’ll try this one the next time I make chili. I doubt strongly that he will have any complaints. 🙂 Thanks!

     
    • Beth

      February 19, 2013 at 6:46 am

      You’re welcome! Enjoy!

       

Leave a Reply

 
