RSS

A Season for Everything

05 Mar

I’m a big fan of seasonal food. Tomatoes and corn are best in July and August, ripe and warm from the summer sun. Apples and September were just made for each other, and I become practically giddy with excitement when the first squash comes in from our CSA.

Seasonal is good. After all, there is a time for everything, right?

I am, however, NOT a fan of seasonal candy. Especially when said candy is only available for a few weeks out of the year. I try to stock up on our favorite flavors, but that’s not always successful. (Especially when the baking stash gets raided in search of dessert… not that I’d ever do that…)

Anyway.

This recipe was on the back of the bag of Hershey’s Mint Truffle Kisses. If you haven’t tried these before, make a note to grab some next December. They’re what you’d get if an Andes mint and a Hershey kiss got together. If you’re lucky enough to have some hanging out in your baking stash, give these a try. (After all, you have to make room for the peanut butter eggs you’ll be buying soon.) 😀

My biggest mistake with this recipe? I only made half a batch (which I’ve reflected below). I figured, 24 brownie bites is plenty for two people, right? Wrong. Let’s just say that someone made sure they disappeared in record time. And now we’re out of mint truffle kisses till December. Boo.

Mint Brownie Bites

Mint Truffle Brownie Bites

24 Hershey’s Mint Truffle Kisses
1/3 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons water
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 egg
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup dark cocoa powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon baking soda

Preheat oven to 350. Line a mini muffin pan with paper liners, and set aside. Remove wrappers from kisses, and set kisses aside in a small bowl.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the water, egg and vanilla and mix well.

In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, cocoa powder, salt and baking soda. Gradually add the dry ingredients to the butter mixture. Mix on low speed until just combined.

Using a cookie scoop, make 24 1″ balls of cookie dough and place one in each well in the muffin pan. Bake until the surface of the cookie is set, about 8-10 minutes. (The original recipe said 11-13 minutes; I was convinced they’d be overdone by that point. Check yours at the 8 minute mark and go from there.) When the cookies are set (they will still seem soft and moist), remove them from the oven and place the sheet on a wire rack to cool. Immediately press one of the kisses in the center of each cookie. Let cool for 5 minutes, then remove from pan to cool completely.

Store in an airtight container.

From Hershey’s

Click here for a printable version.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 5, 2013 in Dessert

 

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “A Season for Everything

  1. Wendy

    March 6, 2013 at 12:20 pm

    Another blogger sang the praises of these mint truffle kisses, so I bought a bag or two but wasn’t sure what to do with them. Now I know. 🙂 Thanks.

     
    • Beth

      March 6, 2013 at 6:35 pm

      Oh, I’m so glad you can try them! I thought about saving this recipe until the kisses were available again, but I was afraid I’d forget about it. I hope you like them!

       
  2. kirsten@farmfreshfeasts

    March 6, 2013 at 3:21 pm

    I dunno–as much as the lack of Candy Cane Joe Joe’s and Do-Si-Dos aggravates me when it is not Christmas/Girl Scout Cookie season, there’s a part of me that thinks it makes the taste of less available items that much better.

    However, I’m a huge fan of chocolate and mint, and I think these look amazing, so I’ll put these kisses on my list.

    Thanks, Beth!

     
    • Beth

      March 6, 2013 at 6:36 pm

      Hmm… good point. I probably wouldn’t be nearly so excited about my Thin Mints and Peanut Butter Patties if they were available all year round. Absence makes the heart grow fonder, right? 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
