RSS

Andy’s Cupcakes

07 Mar

In a way, I feel like this post is cheating: I’ve shared this cake/frosting combination before. But these are green for St. Patrick’s day! (No, I’m not Irish, but Pat seems to be more popular than Urho.) Not to mention the fact that **shameless plug** I really like the picture. 😀

So, why not call them Urho’s cupcakes? Or Patrick’s cupcakes? Because these are Andy-fied. My husband loves the chocolate/mint combination. He might even love it more than I love the peanut-butter chocolate combination, which is saying something. His favorite ice cream flavor? Mint chocolate chip. (Although, some days, it’s a close tie with vanilla bean…) His favorite thing about eating at the Olive Garden? The Andes mints.

And since Andes mints are green… and the cupcake wrappers are green… and March holidays seem to be green, well… it was a match made in cupcake heaven.

I did experiment with chopped mints versus whole mints, and while Andy preferred the whole mint, I liked the chopped pieces better. And since it’s my kitchen, chopped it was. The cake recipe is super easy.(I had these ready to go in the oven in under 20 minutes, start to finish.) You can easily halve the cake recipe, giving you a more manageable number of cupcakes. The frosting is my favorite chocolate frosting, and it comes together quickly as well.

I have to say, I LOVE the way this picture turned out. Even a blind squirrel finds a nut every now and then!

To make Andy’s cupcakes, you’ll need a batch of chocolate cupcakes and a batch or two of chocolate frosting. I find that I need about a batch and a half of the chocolate cream cheese frosting to do an entire batch of cupcakes. (Of course, I recommend making two full batches and then just eating the leftover frosting with a spoon. What? You don’t do that? Hmm…) You’ll also need a package of Andes mints, unwrapped, of course. 🙂

Click here for the recipes: Chocolate Cake with Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 7, 2013 in Cakes & Frostings, Dessert

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Andy’s Cupcakes

  1. gbick11

    March 8, 2013 at 7:58 am

    Reblogged this on gracebickford.

     
  2. kirsten@farmfreshfeasts

    March 9, 2013 at 8:27 am

    Great photo, Beth!
    I’m with Andy–the best thing about the Olive Garden is the mints! That made me LOL.
    I love chocolate and mint, so I’m on this. Thanks!

     

Leave a Reply

 
