RSS

Beauty isn’t everything

15 Mar

almost decided against sharing this recipe with everyone. Not because it wasn’t good or because we didn’t like it, but simply because it wasn’t pretty. And while looks aren’t everything (or so we tell ourselves), in the food blog world, looks seem to be worth a lot. After all, no one pins pictures of ugly food, do they?

Well, I’m here to tell you that you should give this guy a chance. After all, it’s what’s on the inside that counts, right? And what’s on the inside here is gooood. 😀

Butternut squash. Caramelized onions. Fontina cheese. Flaky pastry dough.

Are you interested yet? Oh good.

This recipe was one (of the many) that caught my eye as I paged through the Smitten Kitchen cookbook. (For proof that this CAN look as good as it tastes, check out Deb’s picture in the book. It’s beautiful. Of course.) Thanks to a ridiculously busy schedule, I didn’t get a chance to make this before I had to return it. I wasn’t going to let a little thing like a due date keep me from trying this dish though, so I did what any girl with a printer/scanner/copier would do. I made a copy. (Of course, I accidentally cut off an inch of the page, so I had to  guess at some of the instructions, but that’s besides the point.) 🙂

I halved the recipe and made a 9″ galette (which is what I’m sharing below). And what this galette lacked in looks, it more than made up for in flavor. Yum.

ButternutGalette

Butternut Squash and Caramelized Onion Galette

For the crust:
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour (feel free to sub 1/4 cup whole wheat flour if you’d like)
1/4 teaspoon table salt
8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter
1/4 cup sour cream
1 1/2 teaspoons white wine vinegar
16 teaspoons ice water

For the filling:
1 small butternut squash (about 1 1/4 pounds)
1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil
3/4 teaspoon table salt
1 1/2 teaspoons butter
1 large sweet onion, thinly sliced (I didn’t have a sweet onion on hand, so I used a standard yellow onion.)
1/8 teaspoon sugar
pinch cayenne pepper
1 cup freshly grated fontina cheese (just over 3 ounces)
1/4 dried thyme
pinch dried sage
1 egg yolk
freshly ground pepper

In a medium bowl, whisk together the salt and flour. Cut the butter into the flour mixture with a pastry blender until the butter resembles small peas.

In a liquid measuring cup, stir the sour cream, vinegar and water together. Pour the cream mixture into the bowl with the flour and butter. Stir with a spatula until the dough comes together. Turn the dough out on to a floured work surface and knead a couple of times. Shape the dough into a round ball, then wrap it in plastic wrap and chill in the fridge for at least an hour.

Meanwhile, preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Peel the squash, slice and discard the seeds. Cut the squash into chunks that are between 1/2″ and 1″ in size. Brush a large baking sheet with a tablespoon of olive oil and spread the squash chunks on the baking sheet in an even layer. Sprinkle the squash with a 1/4 teaspoon salt and pepper. Roast the squash until tender, about 30 minutes, turning the pieces about halfway through the cooking time to make sure they brown on all sides. Remove the squash from the oven and let cool, but leave the oven on.

While the squash is hanging out in the oven, melt the butter and 1/2 tablespoon of olive oil in a skillet. (I LOVE my cast iron skillet for this!) Sprinkle the onions with the sugar and 1/2 teaspoon salt and cook over medium-low heat, stirring every now and then, until the onions are soft and caramelized. Sprinkle with the pinch of cayenne pepper.

Mix the squash, onions, cheese and herbs together in a large bowl.

Roll the chilled dough into a 12″ round on a floured work surface. Gently fold the dough in half, then transfer to a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Unfold the dough. Spread the squash mixture in the center of the dough, leaving about a 2″ border. Fold the edge of the dough over the squash, leaving the center open.

Beat the egg yolk together with a tablespoon of water and brush the egg wash over the pastry dough.

Bake the galette until golden brown, between 30 and 40 minutes. Remove from oven and let stand for 5 minutes, then slide the galette off the baking sheet and onto a serving plate. Can be served warm or at room temperature.

From the Smitten Kitchen Cookbook

Click here for a printable version.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 15, 2013 in Appetizer, Main Dishes

 

Tags: , , , ,

8 responses to “Beauty isn’t everything

  1. Vinny Grette

    March 16, 2013 at 10:23 am

    I think it looks quite fine! All it needs is a little sprinkle of green – shallots or parsley or coriander… I’m just not so sure about the crust – might be a little heavy for me with the butter and flour which I eat little of these days. Must say, I’m not missing them much as I shed the pounds!

     
    • Beth

      March 16, 2013 at 6:44 pm

      Thanks! A little bit of green just might do the trick! 🙂

       
  2. thestuffedflamingo

    March 16, 2013 at 3:52 pm

    I think it looks nice! Way to go

     
    • Beth

      March 16, 2013 at 6:12 pm

      Aww, thanks!

       
  3. kirsten@FarmFreshFeasts

    March 17, 2013 at 2:05 pm

    Beth,
    It looks good and I bet it tastes just amazing. Everything I’ve made from Smitten Kitchen has been delicious.
    Thanks!

     
    • Beth

      March 17, 2013 at 3:09 pm

      Thanks! I agree, SK recipes are usually fail-proof.

       
  4. thehealthyproject

    March 19, 2013 at 5:28 pm

    oooh! I saw that recipe on smitten kitchen when I was going through my squash project- I didn’t end up making it but I will try it out next squash! Hey yours looks pretty good!

     

Leave a Reply

 
