RSS

Trying Something New

27 Mar

Is it just me, or are there some cuisines that just sound exotic? Maybe it’s my Midwestern roots (or the fact that I didn’t try Indian food until I was a senior in college), but some foods just seem mysterious to me! 🙂

Things like Moroccan-spiced squash, for instance. I’ve never been to Africa, and I’ll be the first to admit that all of my knowledge of Moroccan culture comes from Casablanca. However, a search for “spaghetti squash” in my Google Reader turned up this gem from Deb at Smitten Kitchen. (Who else, right? And let’s not get me started on the fact that I now have to find a Google Reader alternative. Grrr. Anyway…) It looked tasty. I had all of the spices in my cupboard. Why not try something new with the last spaghetti squash from my winter squash stash?

Deb says you can microwave the squash to save on time, but I went with my favorite time-saving method: Have Andy cut the squash and roast it in the oven when he got home from work. By the time I walked in the door, the squash was almost done cooking, which meant I had about 15 minutes of prep work before we could eat (and that includes setting the table!). Love those nights. 🙂

MoroccanSpaghettiSquash

Moroccan-Spiced Spaghetti Squash

1 large spaghetti squash
1/2 stick of unsalted butter
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon coriander
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
3/4 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons chopped cilantro or parsley (Fresh herb fail on my part; I totally forgot to buy either of these, so I subbed dried parsley. It was fine, but I’m sure this would be a million times better with the fresh stuff.) 

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Slice the squash in half, lengthwise, and scoop out the seeds. Place the squash face down on a parchment-lined baking sheet. Roast until tender, about 45-50 minutes. Remove from the oven and set aside until cool enough to handle (but not cold).

In a large skillet (I used my cast iron one), melt the butter over medium heat. Add the garlic cloves and cook until golden. Stir the spices into the butter and remove it from the heat.

Using a fork, scrape the squash into the skillet. Stir until the squash is covered with the spiced butter, then top with chopped cilantro. Serve warm.

From Smitten Kitchen, who adapted it from Gourmet

Click here for a printable version.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 27, 2013 in Main Dishes, Side Dishes

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Trying Something New

  1. Kirsten@FarmFreshFeasts

    March 29, 2013 at 10:49 am

    Beth,
    What a great idea! It looks fast (well, if Andy gets home in time) and flavorful–just what I love in food. Thanks!
    I’ve just roasted the last 2 sugar pie pumpkins in the Strategic Winter Squash Reserve, though they seem a bit spaghetti squash-ish in stringiness. Still have 1 hold out butternut squash . . .

     
    • Beth

      March 30, 2013 at 11:04 am

      I’m using my last butternut squash today for a salad for Easter dinner! Guess that means it’s about time for spring produce. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
