RSS

Crinkle Cut Potato Love

24 Apr

I may have said this before, but potatoes are one of my absolute favorite foods. Mashed potatoes. Twice baked potatoes. Roasted red potatoes. Grilled potatoes. French fries. Loaded baked potatoes. Hash browns. Any way you slice it, they’re heaven on a plate, in my opinion.

And since I’ve already mentioned my love of waffle fries, it should come as no surprise that I was thrilled when my mom sent me my own crinkle cutter for my birthday. After all, crinkle cuts are the next best thing to waffles, right? 🙂

I sliced the potatoes into pieces that were between 1/4″ and 1/8″ of an inch thick, with a few stray thicker slices (because consistency isn’t my thing…), and they roasted up in about 20 minutes, making them the perfect weeknight side. And thanks to a few tips I’ve picked up, I ended up with crispy roasted potatoes. Not quite french fries, but close enough for me!

CrinkleSpuds

Crinkle-Cut Spuds

4 medium russet potatoes, scrubbed
3 teaspoons olive oil, divided
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon oregano
1/4 teaspoon smoked paprika
1/4 teaspoon onion powder
salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 425. Using a pastry brush, spread 1 teaspoon of olive oil on a large rimmed baking sheet.

Meanwhile, slice potatoes into thin (between 1/4″ and 1/8″ of an inch) slices. Place the slices in a large mixing bowl and cover with cool water. Let stand for 10 to 15 minutes, then drain off the water. Rinse the potato slices to remove the extra starch. Place the potatoes on a clean cotton towel and pat them dry. Wipe out the mixing bowl and put the potato slices back in the bowl.

Drizzle the remaining two teaspoons of olive oil over the potato slices and toss to coat. Sprinkle the spices over the potatoes, then toss to coat again. Spread the potatoes out on the baking sheet in an even layer and bake until golden brown, about 20 minutes, stirring once about halfway through the baking time.

Serve immediately.

A Beth’s Blue Plate Original

Click here for a printable version.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 24, 2013 in Side Dishes

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Crinkle Cut Potato Love

  1. kirsten@FarmFreshFeasts

    April 26, 2013 at 9:45 am

    Beth,
    I’ve got a crinkle cutter from my mom, too! Not as cool as yours, mine is old school (because it is Old) but still, it has done the trick.
    I have a heck of a time getting consistent cuts using it–either I mirror the previous pass and make something really too thin, or I am off and it’s super thick. I did do a 90 degree turn after each slice and made nearly waffle cuts, though I was cutting a cucumber to eat raw with dip, so my inconsistency didn’t matter at all.
    Thanks for a tasty-looking recipe. Easy to follow and I have everything I need here at home.

     

Leave a Reply

 
