RSS

BBQ+Chicken+Pizza. Yes Please.

02 May

We had an amazing stretch of weather this week. We’re talking sunny with highs in the 70s. Pretty much perfect, if you ask me. (Of course, as one of my coworkers pointed out, we’re pretty easy to please this time of year. After more than five months of cold, gray weather, any amount of sunshine makes us happy. Details.)

With weather like that, firing up the grill was a no-brainer. (Don’t get me wrong – we grill out year round. It’s just so much more enjoyable when you don’t have to wear a coat, hat and snow boots while you babysit the burgers.) I grilled kabobs last week, then fish on Monday, and when the rain held off yesterday afternoon, I knew that our BBQ chicken pizza was about to become GRILLED BBQ chicken pizza.

Oh yeah. I was pumped. I came home from work, rolled out my crust and got to work. (I make my pizza crust the night before and freeze it overnight. Then, it goes from the freezer to the fridge before work, where it hangs out all day until Andy takes it out of the fridge to warm up. By the time I get home, it’s ready for action. No waiting around on a weeknight for me!)

Shredded BBQ chicken. Check.
Chopped peppers and onions. Check.
Full bottle of BBQ sauce. Check.
Cheese. Check.

We’re good to go! I was halfway through grilling the crust when I discovered that the flame was gone. Guess there wasn’t as much propane in there after all. Whoops…

I finished the pizza under the broiler. It was still good. Grilled or baked, this pizza combination is always a win at our house. (And we may or may not fight over the leftovers for lunch the next day.)

BBQ Chicken Pizza

I realize that I just hyped grilled pizza, and the recipe I’m giving you below has the oven directions. I learned most of what I know about grilled pizza from Annie’s post. If you’re interested in grilling the pizza, I’d recommend reading what she says to say.

The only change we make (sometimes) is to do a full-size pizza, rather than mini ones. When that happens, I just roll the pizza out onto a cookie sheet and flip it onto the oiled, preheated grill grates. We have a giant grill spatula, which allows me to flip the crust over after a few minutes, ensuring that the crust is almost completely cooked before I pull it off the grill. Then, I add my sauces and toppings, slide the entire thing back on the grill and close the lid. After a few minutes, the cheese is bubbling, the crust has beautiful, smoky grill lines, and your pizza has gone from “good” to “THIS IS THE BEST PIZZA I’VE EVER EATEN.” (It’s true.) 

I also realize that my recipe doesn’t tell you to preheat a pizza stone in a screaming hot oven, or do anything fancy with a pizza peel. I’m sure those things would be great, but this oven method seems to work for me most nights. If you have a “right” way to make pizza, by all means, go for it. Just be sure the grill has plenty of gas first. 😀

BBQ Chicken Pizza 

1 batch pizza dough (Use your favorite; I like the version from the cookbook that Kitchen Aid sends with the mixer!)
4 oz. cooked chicken breast, shredded
2 ounces baby spinach, chopped
½ cup BBQ sauce (Again, use your favorite!)
8 ounces shredded mozzarella cheese
1/3 cup shredded cheddar cheese
½ jalapeno, deseeded and finely chopped
¼ cup bell peppers, chopped
½ cup onion, chopped
Pinch of oregano
Olive oil
Cornmeal

Preheat oven to 425. Brush a pizza pan with a little olive oil, then sprinkle with cornmeal.

Roll out the pizza dough into a 14” circle and place on the pizza pan. Spread the BBQ sauce on the pizza dough and place the chicken pieces on top of the sauce. Top pizza with veggies, and then cover the veggies with cheese. Sprinkle with a hearty pinch of oregano.

Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until crust is done and cheese is browned and bubbly.

Inspired by the many BBQ chicken pizzas I’ve had over the years; this combination is a Beth’s Blue Plate Original!

Click here for a printable version.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 2, 2013 in Chicken, Main Dishes

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “BBQ+Chicken+Pizza. Yes Please.

  1. Kirsten@FarmFreshFeasts

    May 4, 2013 at 11:34 am

    Beth,
    My spouse, against his better judgement, just bought a big honkin’ (to me, used to the tiny cylinders) propane container for this very reason! We have a little grill, and have always used the slender cylinders, and I rarely grill because I kept running out of flame partway through.
    So, one of my goals this summer is to master the grill. We’ll see.

    Please tell me–why do you freeze your dough overnight? I’ve left mine in the fridge for 3-4 days and it did not turn into The Dough That Ate New York. In fact, the color of the beet or spinach dough deepens if it hangs out a few days. I’ve frozen dough, too, but I’m just curious why you’d freeze it for 1 night.

    Thanks!

     
    • Beth

      May 4, 2013 at 1:18 pm

      Well, I read somewhere that if I didn’t freeze the dough to slow down the yeast, I would have GIANT dough in the fridge the next night. I can be too much of a rule-follower sometimes, so I didn’t question whichever blog it was that said that. 🙂

      Is this not the case?! You may be saving me the hassle of freezing for one night!!

       

Leave a Reply

 
