RSS

Great Granola!

06 May

My previous “go-to” granola recipe was one from Epicurious called Everyday Granola. And while it was good, it wasn’t great. In fact, “everyday” may not be the best way to describe it. I’d make it every now and then, but it definitely wasn’t a regular in my kitchen.

Enter my new favorite cookbook. I made a batch of Deb’s “Big Cluster Maple Granola” shortly after receiving the book for my birthday last month, but I only got to try a little bit of it before it was gone. (I shipped some to my in-laws as a thank-you for the book, and Andy made quick work of the remainder.) I decided it to give it another shot last week and figured I’d share some of it with a friend who just had a baby. One batch should be plenty, right?

Well… let’s just say I have to go buy more oatmeal now. 🙂

Seriously. Lacey’s lucky that Andy quit double-fisting it from the pan long enough for me to pack up a bag for her. And it must have been good, since she sent me a message less than a day later to ask for the recipe. Looks like we have a new “everyday” granola here.

As you can see from my pictures, I’m still struggling with getting the “big clusters” that Deb made look SO easy. Maybe I need more egg white, maybe I stir it too much. Clusters or not, we like this.

Big Cluster Maple Walnut Granola

3 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
1 cup shredded coconut (Deb says to use unsweetened; I just use the bag of sweetened stuff that’s in my pantry.) 
1 cup walnuts, coarsely chopped
1/4 cup toasted wheat germ
2 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 teaspoon coarse salt (I’m pretty sure this is what takes it over the top. You get bites of sweet with the salt mixed in. YUM.) 
1/2 cup real maple syrup (No Mrs. Butterworth here!) 
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1 large egg white
1 1/2 cups dried fruit (Deb says cherries; I prefer cranberries) 

Preheat oven to 300. Line a large, rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper or a Silpat.

In a large bowl, stir the oats, coconut, walnuts, wheat germ, salt and cinnamon together. Stir in the olive oil and maple syrup, making sure everything is well coated.

In a small bowl, whisk the egg white until it is frothy, then pour the egg white over your granola mixture. Stir until evenly coated. Spread the mixture out on the prepared pan.

Bake for 45-55 minutes, or until mixture is dry and golden brown. Stir the granola halfway through baking, being careful to not break up the “clusters” too much. Remove from oven and let cool completely before adding the fruit to the granola. Store in an airtight container.

From the Smitten Kitchen Cookbook

Click here for a printable version.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 6, 2013 in Breakfast

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Great Granola!

  1. Kirsten@FarmFreshFeasts

    May 8, 2013 at 5:16 pm

    Beth,
    This sounds amazing. I’m not really a granola eater (though I’m happy to have it, it’s just not something I seek out) but this recipe really appeals to me. Especially because I stocked up on maple syrup at the farmer’s market the other week and have a ton to splurge on.
    Thanks!

     

Leave a Reply

 
