RSS

Meatless Monday Win!

13 May

It’s time, once again, for another round of “dishes that don’t seem to photograph well.” Today’s guest is one of our favorite “meatless Monday” dinners – chickpea tomato pasta.

All the credit for choosing this recipe goes to Andy, again. I don’t know if I would have ever decided to try this one on my own. In fact, I was very skeptical the first time this was simmering away on the stove. Andy has good taste though, and he definitely picked a winner with this one!

We make this one fairly often – at least, fairly often for someone who likes to try new dishes each week. It’s best in the summer, when my basil plant is going gangbusters, but don’t let that stop you from making it now – dried basil works fine, in a pinch. (Hahaha… “in a pinch.” Get it? 🙂 ) It’s fast enough for a weeknight, and we usually get a couple of lunches out of a batch too. I love it so much that I burn my tongue almost every time I make it because I can’t wait for the sauce to cool before I sneak a taste. You’d think I’d learn, one of these times…

Chickpea Tomato Pasta

28 ounces crushed tomatoes
3 cups cooked chickpeas
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 tablespoon olive oil (I eyeball this.) 
14 1/2 ounces chicken or vegetable stock
12 ounces medium pasta shells
1 spring basil, plus more for serving (or a hearty pinch of dried basil)
Coarse salt, to taste
1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
Parmesan cheese, grated, for serving

In a large saucepan, heat olive oil over medium heat. Add garlic and red pepper flakes, and cook until fragrant, but not brown. Add the chickpeas and season with salt. Cook for five minutes, stirring occasionally. Add the tomatoes and broth to the pot, and bring the mixture to a boil. Reduce heat to a simmer, and add the basil spring. Cook until sauce reduces and thickens some, about 20 minutes.

Meanwhile, bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Cook the pasta according to the package directions. Drain pasta and return the cooked pasta to its pot, off the heat.

When the sauce has finished cooking, pour it over the pasta. Serve immediately, and garnish with torn basil leaves and grated Parmesan cheese.

From Everyday Food Magazine, April 2009

Click here for a printable version.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on May 13, 2013 in Main Dishes

 

Tags: , , , , ,

7 responses to “Meatless Monday Win!

  1. Kirsten@FarmFreshFeasts

    May 13, 2013 at 12:10 pm

    Beth,
    This sounds great–and looks pretty darn good to me! I think it’s time to buy a bag of dried chick peas and cook them up so I’ve got supplies handy for when the mood strikes–be it meatless pasta or hummus.
    Thanks!

     
  2. Bethany Parrish

    October 27, 2014 at 9:35 am

    BBPS Review #3: Rated a 5 by Andy Parrish! Chickpeas are best to me in hummus, but I liked this also! Delicious!

     
    • Beth

      October 28, 2014 at 10:04 pm

      I love your reviews! 🙂 Glad this was a 5 for Mr. P! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
