RSS

What We’re Eating: 5/27/13 – 5/31/13

27 May

Happy Memorial Day, everyone! And a big thank you to everyone who has served and sacrificed for our freedoms.

I hadn’t planned on doing a menu post for this week, but I realized that all of the pictures I’ve taken recently have been desserts, and in the interest of presenting a well-balanced diet, I figured I’d throw a menu post in between the cakes, cookies and ice cream that I’ve been sharing. You know, so you can see that we aren’t just eating sweets.

Monday 5/27 – Grilled shrimp with cilantro sauce, cumin rice and beans and broccoli (New recipes!) 
Tuesday 5/28 – Strawberry bacon pizza (I had this on the menu a couple of weeks ago, and I never got around to it. Making it happen this week for sure!)
Wednesday 5/29 – Pot roast in the crockpot (I always add potatoes.) 
Thursday 5/30 – Apricot chicken pasta and roasted broccoli
Friday 5/31 – Sloppy Joes and salad (If I get around to it this week, I’m making my own buns!) 

I also have a garden update to share! I finally put plants in the dirt over this past weekend. Thankfully we finished planting things by Sunday, as Memorial Day is turning out to be cool and rainy. Andy did point out that the rain is ideal for our little baby plants though. 🙂

We planted green beans, sugar snap peas, carrots, beets, lettuce, swiss chard, broccoli and tomatoes. I filled the flower bed by the house with herbs basil, parsley, mint, rosemary, thyme, and sage. Now, as long as we can keep the rabbits out, we should be OK. I hope. I’ll take garden pictures when there’s a little more to  look at – right now it’s just dirt with some flags marking the ends of the rows. 🙂

Our rhubarb is loving the weather this spring. I’ve made a batch of rhubarb squares and a batch of muffins, and I’ve put 3 lbs. in the freezer so far. I’m hoping the plant keeps producing – my goal is to get more in the freezer AND have a batch of those rhubarb squares last long enough for me to take a picture. You know, so I can share them with everyone. 🙂

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 27, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

One response to “What We’re Eating: 5/27/13 – 5/31/13

  1. Kirsten@farmfreshfeasts

    May 27, 2013 at 3:45 pm

    Beth, I need to do this again, since I’ve got something nibbling at some of my plants, but . . . ahem if you pour a homemade liquid barrier around your garden beds it does help to deter nibbling critters. You make the liquid, all by yourself. That’s all I’ll say.

    I really want to make this pizza–it sounds so delicious.

     

Leave a Reply

 
