RSS

Like Fudgesicles, Only Better

16 Jun

You may have already picked up on this, but we’re big fans of ice cream. Even during the winter, when it’s cold enough to store the ice cream outside, you can find some living in our freezer. Especially since we purchased an ice cream maker last fall. (Yay for Craigslist!) Since then, we’ve been putting it to good use. (Let’s not talk about how our cream and egg consumption has skyrocketed in the last nine months.) 😀

Andy’s favorite flavor is vanilla bean. Yes, it’s tasty. Yes, it goes with anything. Yes, it’s a classic. I get it. But I want chocolate, nine times out of ten. And if I pick a flavor OTHER than chocolate, it’s because it has chocolate chunks in it. (Moose Tracks or Mackinaw Island Fudge, anyone?!) If I can get chocolate ice cream with chocolate chunks, so much better. (Brownie batter ice cream, yes please!) 

This is the frozen dessert for me. It’s technically not even ice cream; it’s sorbet. That’s right, there’s not a drop of dairy in this sucker. (This makes it “healthy,” right?) It’s chocolate, sugar, cocoa, water and vanilla. And the chocolate flavor is through the roof. It’s like a fudgesicle, only a million times better. There’s really not much else to say about this one. Frozen chocolate awesomeness = go make this now.

(And yes, I realize this is the third dessert recipe I’ve shared in a row. I just haven’t been taking pictures of our non-sweet food. And I’d say that ice cream is “in season” now. 🙂 Our CSA starts up this week – FINALLY – so more veggie posts will be making an appearance soon!) 

ChocSorbet

Yes, this one’s a little drippy. It melts even faster than regular homemade ice cream. Don’t let that stop you though. Just eat it quickly. 🙂

Chocolate Sorbet

2 1/4 cups water, divided
1 cup sugar
3/4 cup Dutch-processed cocoa powder (I’m not ashamed to admit that I used Hershey’s Special Dark here with no problems at all.) 
pinch of salt
6 ounces bittersweet or semi-sweet chocolate, finely chopped (I used a mixture of bittersweet and semi-sweet.) 
1/2 teaspoon vanilla

In a medium-to-large saucepan, whisk together 1 1/2 cups of water, the sugar, salt and cocoa powder. Let the mixture come to a boil, and continue to whisk while it boils rapidly for about 45 seconds. (I think I let mine boil longer… whoops.)

Remove the pan from the heat and stir in the chopped chocolate, whisking until it is completely melted and smooth. Stir in the vanilla and the remaining water.

Using a hand-held blender, blend the mixture for 15 seconds. (Alternatively, you can transfer the mixture to a blender, blend and then transfer it back into a container for chilling. I like using the stick blender and saving a step. Plus, then I’m less likely to spill chocolate all over my kitchen.) Chill the mixture thoroughly, either over an ice bath or in the fridge.

When the mixture is thoroughly chilled, freeze it in an ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

From Smitten Kitchen, who adapted it from the Perfect Scoop (which I’m beginning to think I should purchase)

Click here for a printable version.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 16, 2013 in Dessert, Ice Cream

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Like Fudgesicles, Only Better

  1. Kirsten@FarmFreshFeasts

    June 17, 2013 at 7:21 am

    Beth,
    In a word, yum! Since my CSA is going strong (with the greens) I’m happy to sit here chewing on kale and drooling over your dessert photos!

     

Leave a Reply

 
