RSS

The One We’ve All Been Waiting For: CSA 2013 Week 1

21 Jun

CSA2013Week1

Holy huge head of lettuce, Batman! 🙂

Week one of our CSA has finally arrived, and I couldn’t be more excited about it. Our first share was full of spring goodies – never mind that the calendar says that today is the first day of summer.

Here’s the official tally for week one:

2 1/2 POUNDS of Romaine lettuce
1 pound of asparagus
12 ounces of rhubarb
1 bunch of radishes (clocking in around 12 ounces as well)
4 potatoes (I’m guessing these guys are holdovers from last fall’s crop. It’s way too early for potatoes in Wisconsin!)

So, what are my plans for our first batch of freshly-grown goodness? Besides salads, right? 🙂 I’ll probably roast the asparagus… although I did see a spring risotto that I’d love to try. Mashed potatoes would go well with roasted asparagus too. The rhubarb is destined for a baked good, but I can’t decide if I should make a pie, a cake or rhubarb squares. Decisions, decisions.

The radishes are the tricky veggie in this batch. I roasted the ones we received last year, and while I liked them, Andy wasn’t a huge fan. Since it’s looking like I’ll be the only one eating the radishes anyway, I think I’d like to try a radish salad this time around. Here’s hoping that Google turns up a winning recipe!

I picked three quarts of strawberries from our garden this week too! I thought about turning them into a pie, but, true to form, we’ve been too busy eating them plain. I’m hoping we’ll get out to a local strawberry farm this weekend and be able to pick enough for eating, baking and freezing.

Finally, I get to share this post with the link party over at In Her Chucks. I’m so glad to be back after a long winter. Head on over to see what everyone else is doing with their produce! 🙂

 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 21, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “The One We’ve All Been Waiting For: CSA 2013 Week 1

  1. Tammy

    June 22, 2013 at 10:08 am

    I really like your photo. Those four holdover potatoes look so grounded and humble next to that bright asparagus and radishes.

     
    • Beth

      June 22, 2013 at 8:19 pm

      Thanks!

       
  2. Kirsten@FarmFreshFeasts

    June 22, 2013 at 2:45 pm

    Beth,
    I’m doing the happy dance for you–holy cow that’s a big head of lettuce!
    My kids, not radish fans, have been eating our CSA radishes in yakisoba and summer soup, but for me nothing beats a radish sandwich.
    I’m glad you’re enjoying your CSA again after a long winter!

     
    • Beth

      June 22, 2013 at 8:20 pm

      A radish sandwich? I’ve never thought of that. Might be worth trying. And it is SO nice to have the fresh veggies again. My grocery shopping just got so much easier!

       
  3. inherchucks

    June 26, 2013 at 5:35 pm

    Sounds like a lot of salads will be enjoyed this week 🙂

    Thanks for sharing and linking up! So nice to have you back at the party!

     

Leave a Reply

 
